1. Joined
    23 May '08
    Moves
    07 Oct '08 21:10
    I can't post the in-thread board..

Game 5259573

An interesting two pawn sac, ambitious and would probably lose against a top player. But possibly drawable for white after saccing the pawns. What it does do is give white a game where he is in complete control, and a pool of ideas to choose from, and black a thin tight rope to walk. white too is on a tightrope but my opponent does walk it well, until he falters at a very unusual and unexpected moment, when the danger was passed and a draw looked certain. Indeed i started playing for the draw, when he went wrong. I hope you like my analysis, i have forgotten 90% of what was going through my head but it should still be an interesting read. Please, add to this analysis if you can.

1. e4 c5 i like playing white against sicilian, but always play 2. e5 as black. I think i'm going to try and pick up the sicilian as black, seems good fun, e5 can be very dull.
    2. Nf3 d6
    3. d4 cxd4
    4. Nxd4 e5 i quite like the sveshnikov (spelling?) and this opening shares the early advanced e5 pawn, im not sure e5 THIS early is something i am as used to but i like the weak d6 pawn. especially at lower levels it can be easily targeted and picked off. If not picked off, the struggle to keep the pawn, for black, can lead to worse position or simply control of the game for white. it's a definite weakness. i hear grandmasters tend to stear clear unless they are experts in the line. If you look at high rated players playing this type of sicilian i would imagine the main pattern emerging would be pressure on the weak d6 pawn or play based on that weakness.
    5. Bb5+ I am in database here
    5.. Bd7
    6. Bxd7 Nxd7
    7. Nb3 Nf6
    8. Nc3 Qc7 im not bothering with a database right now it all seems fairly typical and obvious right now what moves are okay, so pick one you like!