1. SubscriberPaul Leggett
    Chess Librarian
    The Stacks
    Moves
    26 Jul '11 15:071 edit

Hi folks,

I am currently studying to play in the US Open, and I came across this game in GM Davies' Starting Out: The Modern.

Davies writes: "Black has obtained a very comfortable Sicilian type structure in which the exchange of a minor piece eases his game."

The curious part for me was that I would be very comfortable on either side of the board, and I spun it around on the table to make sure.

White's position came from a Modern/Pirc, but it could have been a Closed Sicilian, or even a Leningrad Bird, depending on the move order.

It reminded me of playing through the Botvinnik-Smyslov matches of the 1950's, where I loved both sides' positions, and it was even more exciting than normal to see how they ended!

I am curious to know how many people prefer White or Black here, so for fun, I am going to use the new "thumbs/like or dislike" function on the forum to see the tally.

I will make separate posts in the thread for black and white, and let people vote.

For the record, here's the full game:

2. SubscriberPaul Leggett
    Chess Librarian
    The Stacks
    Moves
    26 Jul '11 15:091 edit
    Please click the "thumbs up" icon if you like WHITE

Please click the "thumbs down' icon if you like BLACK

3. Standard memberwormwood
    If Theres Hell Below
    We're All Gonna Go!
    Moves
    26 Jul '11 16:27
    I kinda like both, for different reasons.

white for being a leningrad player myself, although I find myself really missing the queenside knight. the queenside seems so 'naked' without it. I mean, usually the black bishop isn't much of a problem, because it can only exchange itself for the knight or the a1 rook, both of which I tend to welcome with open arms. but now it's actually threatening stuff and making queenside expansion troublesome (or at least the normal plans I'm used to don't work.)