Is master level achievable without a coach?

Is master level achievable without a coach?

Only Chess

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I

Moves
27 Nov 06

Like many here, I'm obsessed with the game. I fill every idle minute of my day with studying tactics, reading strategy books, or playing. My hunger for improving my play will probably never stop. I'm not a competative player, but play more for self improvement.

I haven't, however, had any coaching, professional or otherwise. Everything I have learned is self taught (books/software). I do feel like I have a good grasp on my weeknesses and have laid out a long term plan for improving those points.

My life goal is to achieve master level. Although things may change in the future, I don't see myself being in the position to aquire a chess coach for both financial and personal reasons.

I would like to hear from any "self-made masters" out there. Do you exist? Is it possible?

KIF

Moves
27 Nov 06

It is possible (2000 isnt that hard IMHO). I dont see how people on RHP can have ratings like 900... its just stupid.

OTB I hope to be atleast 2200 before I quit.

I

Moves
27 Nov 06

Originally posted by Kings Indian FTW
It is possible (2000 isnt that hard IMHO). I dont see how people on RHP can have ratings like 900... its just stupid.

To clarify my post, I am talking about OTB and considering "master" as USCF 2200 or FIDE 2200. RHP ratings are often inaccurrate/inconsistant with OTB ratings.

y

Moves
27 Nov 06

This raises a good question,how many IM's and GM's got there without a coach,I think you can take it most of the Russians did/do-chess coaching is a state institution but what about non Soviet players,I mean did Fischer ever have a coach in his learning days.

FL

over there

Moves
27 Nov 06

I believe it is possible. Just keep studying.

V

Moves
27 Nov 06