Go back
Is this a little-known chess move or a bug?

Is this a little-known chess move or a bug?

Only Chess

Vote Up
Vote Down

I was playing a game on my mobile against the "computer", and it allowed me to "castle", but with a queen. The queen was where the rook would have been.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Its a bug on you're phone 🙂

3 edits
Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by MilkyJoe
I was playing a game on my mobile against the "computer", and it allowed me to "castle", but with a queen. The queen was where the rook would have been.
Ha!

I knew a few people would get caught out by this one.
Not many people know that you can castle with Queen as well as your King.

The reason why you never see it is because it's a bad move.
Why do want your Queen on b1 instead of d1. (or b8 & d8).

You rarely see Q-Q or even Q-Q-Q these days but it's there
and is a legal move.

Stands to reason - if you can castle with your King then you can
also castle with your Queen.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by greenpawn34
Ha!

I knew a few people would get caught out by this one.
Not many people know that you can castle with Queen as well as your King.

The reason why you never see it is because it's a bad move.
Why do want your Queen on b1 instead of d1. (or b8 & d8).

You rarely see Q-Q or even Q-Q-Q these days but it's there
and is a legal move.

Stands to reason - if you can castle with your King then you can
also castle with your Queen.
Do you mean you can castle with a rook and queen and not a queen and king? It may have been a queen and rook, it was a few years ago it happened.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by MilkyJoe
Do you mean you can castle with a rook and queen and not a queen and king? It may have been a queen and rook, it was a few years ago it happened.
Well, the rules of castling are (amongst others):

You are allowed to castle if, and only if, the king stands on its original square *and* the piece you want to castle with stands on *its* original square.

So if you haven't moved you queen *and* the queen is on either square of h1 (h8) or a1 (a8) then you can castle short, respectively long, with the queen.

All by the FIDE rules dated from 1st of April 2008.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Can someone show me a pre Qastling PGN and a post Qastling PGN? I'm having a hard time picturing where the two pieces would move from the d and 3 squares.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by FabianFnas
Well, the rules of castling are (amongst others):

You are allowed to castle if, and only if, the king stands on its original square *and* the piece you want to castle with stands on *its* original square.

So if you haven't moved you queen *and* the queen is on either square of h1 (h8) or a1 (a8) then you can castle short, respectively long, with the queen.

All by the FIDE rules dated from 1st of April 2008.
That's the most ridiculous thing I ever heard. Chessgames.com has games in their database dated as early as 1971 with the queen castling. That 2008 date can't be true.

(a quick browse through wikipedia has the date 4-01-69 as the date it was first implemented into Fide rules, but I'm not sure if that is the American date format)

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by greenpawn34
Ha!

I knew a few people would get caught out by this one.
Not many people know that you can castle with Queen as well as your King.

The reason why you never see it is because it's a bad move.
Why do want your Queen on b1 instead of d1. (or b8 & d8).

You rarely see Q-Q or even Q-Q-Q these days but it's there
and is a legal move.

Stands to reason - if you can castle with your King then you can
also castle with your Queen.
...cause anything else would be sexist...and we have to give those ballsy feminists what the want...😕

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by c guy1
...cause anything else would be sexist...and we have to give those ballsy feminists what the want...😕
LOL! "ballsy feminists"

Vote Up
Vote Down

I've been playing a few years and I've never seen or heard of this. I've had a look on the FIDE website and I can't find the rule.

They say: "`castling`. This is a move of the king and either rook of the same colour on the same rank, counting as a single move of the king and executed as follows: the king is transferred from its original square two squares towards the rook, then that rook is transferred to the square the king has just crossed."

This seems to specify that only the king and rook are involved so either I'm looking in the wrong place or you're all having a massive massive laugh.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by Lukerik
I've been playing a few years and I've never seen or heard of this. I've had a look on the FIDE website and I can't find the rule.

They say: "`castling`. This is a move of the king and either rook of the same colour on the same rank, counting as a single move of the king and executed as follows: the king is transferred from its original square two squa ...[text shortened]... d so either I'm looking in the wrong place or you're all having a massive massive laugh.
MASSIVE

Vote Up
Vote Down

Well I've just wet meself!

14 edits
Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by FabianFnas
Well, the rules of castling are (amongst others):
You are allowed to castle if, and only if, the king stands on its original square *and* the piece you want to castle with stands on *its* original square.
So if you haven't moved you queen *and* the queen is on either square of h1 (h8) or a1 (a8) then you can castle short, respectively long, with the queen.
All by the FIDE rules dated from 1st of April 2008.





LOL Of course not!! Take note of that date above, 🙂 this is some "April fools' joke"

You cannot castle with your queen. That option is only reserved for the king to be able to castle into safety

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by kNIGHTHEAD
[i]Originally posted by FabianFnas
[b]Well, the rules of castling are (amongst others):
You are allowed to castle if, and only if, the king stands on its original square *and* the piece you want to castle with stands on *its* original square.
So if you haven't moved you queen *and* the queen is on either square of h1 (h8) or a1 (a8) then you can castle ...[text shortened]... with your queen. That option is only reserved for the king to be able to castle into safety
The castling is reserved for *any* piece standing in any of the corners, that have not moved from the beginning of the game (and the king of course). Including the queen, if she has not moved...

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by MilkyJoe
I was playing a game on my mobile against the "computer", and it allowed me to "castle", but with a queen. The queen was where the rook would have been.
is your name milky joe from that show old gregg or the mighty boosh whatever its called

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.