Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 29 Aug '07 17:57
    Black has a bishop on d3, and I (White) have an uncastled King and rooks that haven't moved, either. I'm playing correspondence chess with postcards in the USCF, and my opponent said my move, O-O-O, is illegal because the b1 square is covered by his Bishop. As long as the King doesn't pass through check, it's a legal move, right?
  2. 29 Aug '07 18:00
    Yes it`s legal.
  3. 29 Aug '07 18:00
    Yes, castling is only illegal if the King passes through check.
  4. 29 Aug '07 18:01
    You are correct. The king doesn't pass through the b1 square on a queenside castle, therefore it is legal to castle, even if b1 is being attacked.

    If c1 or d1 is attacked though, then it is illegal to castle.
  5. 29 Aug '07 18:02
    nevermind: http://www.chessclub.com/resources/rules/Castling.html
  6. 29 Aug '07 18:02 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by lausey
    You are correct. The king doesn't pass through the b1 square on a queenside castle, therefore it is legal to castle, even if b1 is being attacked.

    If c1 or d1 is attacked though, then it is illegal to castle.
    thank you...all.
  7. 29 Aug '07 18:17
    Make him forfeit the game!
  8. 29 Aug '07 21:03
    This comes up occassionally, before you castigate him for being stupid, Victor Korchnoi asked the same question of an arbiter in one of his match games for the world championship against Karpov. Of course, korchnoi was suffering from incredible stress and blew a synapse, since everybody knows it's a legal move.
  9. Standard member 8D
    Fixer
    29 Aug '07 21:28
    Originally posted by Sam The Sham
    This comes up occassionally, before you castigate him for being stupid, Victor Korchnoi asked the same question of an arbiter in one of his match games for the world championship against Karpov. Of course, korchnoi was suffering from incredible stress and blew a synapse, since everybody knows it's a legal move.
    Now that is being in the moment!

    I imagine he was getting pummeled?! And it was all too much.
  10. Standard member Kepler
    Demon Duck
    29 Aug '07 22:29
    Originally posted by 8D
    Now that is being in the moment!

    I imagine he was getting pummeled?! And it was all too much.
    Nope, Korchnoi was winning and Karpov resigned soon afterwards. This occurred in the 21st game of the 1975 Candidate's Final to decide who would play Fischer.