1. Standard memberMonty348
    Always the Student
    Colorado
    Moves
    01 Oct '06 03:24
    I'm pretty new to online chess, only 80 games or so, and struggling to stay over 1400. As a recent subscriber, I'm wondering what the advantages/disadvantages are to joining a clan.

I don't play a lot of games at once, 4 to 6 tops, and I usually move a couple of times per day/per game.

I want to improve my game and wonder if clan membership will help with that. Are games assigned to you in a clan or do you still get to choose your opponents and the number of games you play?

Just curious to know what some of you think.
  2. Standard memberWulebgr
    Angler
    River City
    Moves
    01 Oct '06 05:15
    Originally posted by Monty348
    I'm pretty new to online chess, only 80 games or so, and struggling to stay over 1400. As a recent subscriber, I'm wondering what the advantages/disadvantages are to joining a clan.

I don't play a lot of games at once, 4 to 6 tops, and I usually move a couple of times per day/per game.

I want to improve my game and wonder if clan membership will help ...[text shortened]... r opponents and the number of games you play?

They are assigned. Clan games come in pairs.

Some clans load you up with a huge quantity of games, and others only a few. You control whether and when you are available for challenges.

In my experience, the best challenges are found in clan matches.
  3. Joined
    21 Apr '06
    Moves
    01 Oct '06 05:40

I want to improve my game and wonder if clan membership will help ...[text shortened]... r opponents and the number of games you play?

Some of the clans are aimed at specific areas of chess (mainly openings) if you have an intrest in one of those openings then no doubt the private clan forums will contain some useful information.

Theres also things like the Analysis clan which is aimed at chess improvement.

Clan 24509
  4. Standard memberhuckleberryhound
    Devout Agnostic.
    DZ-015
    Moves