Go back
Legal Castling

Legal Castling

Only Chess

Vote Up
Vote Down

From: Entropy13
Subject: Castling Legally
Date: August 19, 2005 12:39:43 PM CDT
To: migmag@pair.com

Hi. I sent this email to ChessCentral.com:
From other sources, I was led to believe that it's illegal to castle if any opponent threatens any square that the king is on, or passes over, or lands on. Another explained that besides these three squares, there could be nothing threatening ANY square along the file on which the King and Rook sit, or between them. Your site gives a third view-that the King and Rook can't be exposed to capture. The other rules are the same-can't be in check, neither has moved, etc. This one thing about the enemy threat is all that puzzles me.

This is a great site with great links and articles. Thanks.
----------------
Then I got this reply:

Hi,
 
The Rook can be threatened, or exposed to capture, and still castle.

Hope that helps!
 
Thank you for shopping ChessCentral!
 
Best,
 
Janet
Customer Support
www.ChessCentral.com
Home of the Chess Experts
----------------------
Now, I know the rules have changed over the centuries, but I just want to know the truth about what is being used now. There seem to be some discrepancies among chess lovers about what is and isn't legal.
Thanks.
Al Strickland

Vote Up
Vote Down

It is true that you can castle when the rook is being threatened.. The reason you can't castle when the blank spaces are being threatened is because the King passes through those spaces, and if something is threatening one of the spaces, that would mean that the king would put itself in check, which is a no no.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Think of it this way. One cannot castle if the King would be in check during any part of the castle, assuming he walks toward and past the Rook instead of simply teleporting to his new position. For example, if White has K on e1 and R on h1, if e1, f1 or g1 are attacked by an enemy piece, castling cannot take place. You can think of it as though the King cannot allow himself to get sniped while performing the castle maneuver.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Nicely explained. Also the king cannot castle OUT of check, i.e. castle as a means of dealing with a check, or castle with a rook which has previously moved.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Also, you can't castle if the King has allready moved at some point and maybe moved mack to his square.

Vote Up
Vote Down

LOL

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by Bowmann
LOL
Loser.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by CrazyLilTing
Loser.
Unlikely, since I know the rules of the game.

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.