1. Joined
    21 Apr '06
    Moves
    21 Apr '06 02:34
    Hello I have recently taken an interest in chess, however I am a complete newbie and I would like any help at all to become a moderate player, any advice or tip or help would be greatly appreciated ! Thank you !
  2. Edmonton, Alberta
    Moves
    21 Apr '06 02:41
    Originally posted by Demoz
    Hello I have recently taken an interest in chess, however I am a complete newbie and I would like any help at all to become a moderate player, any advice or tip or help would be greatly appreciated ! Thank you !
    Hi

http://www.redhotpawn.com/board/showthread.php?threadid=39309&page=2

Half way down, page 2 follow that advice.

Keep in mind, chess is a drug. Sometimes it's a curse.
  3. Joined
    21 Apr '06
    Moves
    21 Apr '06 02:44
    Thanks for the help RahimK, but aside from advice is there any "moves" or strategies that I should learn?
  4. Edmonton, Alberta
    Moves
    21 Apr '06 02:452 edits
    Thanks for the help RahimK, but aside from advice is there any "moves" or strategies that I should learn?
    Ya, it's all on that page. I listed which websites people should read, resources to use etc... That will get you on your way to 1400 at least.

I used these when I first started out. Other then that, pick up a chess book and start reading.
  5. Joined
    21 Sep '05
    Moves
    21 Apr '06 03:40
    Speaking of books: two excellent chess books for beginners are:
    "Invitation to Chess" by Irving Chernev, and
    "Play Winning Chess" by Seirawan.
    Another good one (very thorough) is:
    "Complete Idiot's Guide to Chess" by Patrick Wolff.
    Good luck!
  6. Under Cover
    Moves
    21 Apr '06 04:25
    Originally posted by basso
    Speaking of books: two excellent chess books for beginners are:
    "Invitation to Chess" by Irving Chernev, and
    "Play Winning Chess" by Seirawan.
    Another good one (very thorough) is:
    "Complete Idiot's Guide to Chess" by Patrick Wolff.