1. Joined
    27 Feb '06
    Moves
    27 Feb '06 17:00
    I am new to chess, but I know how the game work. I know how each pieces work, but how do you get good at it? Does it take a lot of practices? Any advices, I will gladly take it. Thank you!
  2. cavanaugh park
    Moves
    27 Feb '06 17:06
    Originally posted by Earthgoddess
    I am new to chess, but I know how the game work. I know how each pieces work, but how do you get good at it? Does it take a lot of practices? Any advices, I will gladly take it. Thank you!
    Welcome, and no practice is needed, you could beat Kasparov easy.
  3. Standard memberWulebgr
    Angler
    River City
    Moves
    27 Feb '06 17:11
    Chess skill comes naturally to a few, but most of us must practice a lot. Play a few games, and seek to understand the purpose of every move. Identify the key errors in each completed game, and avoid repeating those errors again.

Play through classic games, such as those you'll find in The World's Greatest Chess Games by Graham Burgess, John Nunn, and John Emms.

Learn the fundamental checkmate patterns and tactcal motifs (pins, forks, skewers, decoys, etc.).
  4. The sky
    Moves
    27 Feb '06 17:21
    Originally posted by Wulebgr
    Learn the fundamental checkmate patterns and tactcal motifs (pins, forks, skewers, decoys, etc.).
    Sheesh. I have been playing for over a year, but this is the first time I have heard about decoys. I had to google it. 😳
  5. Joined
    21 Oct '04
    Moves
    27 Feb '06 18:13
    Originally posted by Nordlys
    Sheesh. I have been playing for over a year, but this is the first time I have heard about decoys. I had to google it. 😳
    Here is a nice decoy move

http://www.chessgames.com/perl/chessgame?gid=1104948
  6. Standard memberTrains44
    Full speed locomotiv
    Account suspended
    Moves
    27 Feb '06 18:17
    Originally posted by Nordlys
    Someone tell me what the hell a "decoy" is in chess, and how it is played?