1. Joined
    15 Feb '13
    Moves
    16 Feb '13 01:14
    Hi all,

I just signed up and my rating is listed as 1200! While I have played chess for many years (and read about it a fair amount), that is an optimistic score, I am sure. How do I change it to a more realistic value?

PS I'm new to online chess. I started an open invite game and made the first move, I hope that's how to get the ball rolling...

--

cheers
  2. SubscriberPaul Leggett
    Chess Librarian
    The Stacks
    Moves
    16 Feb '13 01:19
    The 1200 starting point means that almost everyone starts out either underrated or overrated, and sometimes by a substantial amount.

The FAQ can answer much of your question in substantive ways, but the short answer is that, as you play, your rating will naturally gravitate to your current level. Good luck!
  3. Joined
    15 Feb '13
    Moves
    16 Feb '13 01:29
    Exploring the site now and I'm impressed. I already have a game going and I really like how you can get loads of information on your opponent's stats...also the pgn games in posts and the ability to watch public games is neat. I'm going to like it here.
  4. Standard memberRJHinds
    The Near Genius
    Fort Gordon
    Moves
    16 Feb '13 03:52
    Originally posted by Archive
    Exploring the site now and I'm impressed. I already have a game going and I really like how you can get loads of information on your opponent's stats...also the pgn games in posts and the ability to watch public games is neat. I'm going to like it here.
    Don't forget to use the RHP analyze board to plan out your moves before actually submitting your move on the RHP main board. There are many references on the openings that is good to check out, such as the following:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chess_opening
  5. Subscriber64squaresofpain
    The drunk knight
    Stuck on g1
    Moves
    16 Feb '13 15:21
    Originally posted by RJHinds