1. Joined
    04 Jul '06
    Moves
    25 Jun '07 10:20
    Hi guys,

I need some advice. I want to start playing a new opening against 1 e4, as I think I have reached some decent peak with my actual one(French defence) and I need a second option(to make opponent's opening preparation more difficult). As I think 1...e5 gives white too many options and that they are always prepared with something specific against sicilian so I would like some opening that doesn't have so much theory involved and that is playable...

What do you think about Pirc or Alehin ? Are they ok ? which one would you advice me to play ?
  2. Joined
    12 Aug '06
    Moves
    25 Jun '07 11:051 edit
    I've played both of these openings when I was a beginner and thought that winning is solely based on openings, so I think my advice is sound.

Both Pirc and Alekhine are complicated and sound defences, however if you want to avoid too much theory you should stick with the Alekhine's defence. It will also prove instructional in more ways than one. Playing a hypermodern defence is never easy.
  3. Joined
    06 Oct '02
    Moves
    25 Jun '07 18:27
    If you play the french why not take a look at the caro kahn as well?
  4. EDMONTON ALBERTA
    Moves
    25 Jun '07 19:032 edits
    I'd advise against the carro-cann... I'd say, go sicillian instead of pirc, follow this: 1.e4 c5 2.Nf3 d6 and try the najdorf or dragon. Since you play the french you might also be comfortable with a 2...e6 sicillian. you have to remember that complex isn't a bad thing... it is just as much a good thing too!
    EDIT: well, looking at your rating, maybe the pirc would be better at your level as your opponents would be well prepared for a sicillian.
  5. Under ur ChessBoard!
    Moves
    25 Jun '07 19:11