Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 04 Aug '09 09:35
    6465227 game number

    The same move has been made by both parties approx 20 times leading to no progress.
    I have read on the forum help page that a draw can be claimed if the same move/s have been made 3 consecutive times by both players.

    Can someone clarify this please.

    Thanks in advance
    KC
  2. 04 Aug '09 09:37 / 1 edit
  3. Standard member skeeter
    515 + 30 days
    04 Aug '09 10:14
    Notwithstanding 'game in progress', the rules determine that if an "indentical" position occurs three times in the same match, then, at that third or any further repeat of that same "identical" position, then either player may claim the draw. Can't say anymore than that at this time.

    skeeter
  4. 04 Aug '09 12:48 / 1 edit
    Thank you Heinzkat
    Thank you Skeeter