Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 31 Mar '18 13:50
    My opponent gains a second Q from pawn promotion, which goes on to take my Q. Then I take his 2nd Q with a Knight but I am not credited with either the Q capture or a pawn. As if the capture move never happened - why is this?
  2. Subscriber 64squaresofpain On Vacation
    The drunk knight
    31 Mar '18 14:01
    After the move bxa1=Q you had "gained" a pawn on the sideline.

    The system won't recognise the Queen "capture" as your opponent still has a Queen on the table.
    You instead "gained" a pawn, which was shown after the promotion was made.
  3. 31 Mar '18 15:19
    Thanks for explaining. I think I made a very stupid move anyway. Will think more carefully in future.