Originally posted by moonbusAs a tournament director I was asked by someone if it was okay to wake their friend who had fallen asleep while playing a tournament game. I told them it was not. Fortunately the sleepyhead woke up before his time expired and it was a nonissue.
Originally posted by AmauroteSay something like: "I'm sorry I thought we'd agreed to play chess, can you explain the rules of the game we are actually playing?"
The polite response is to enter REM state as rapidly as possible and complete the game in dreamtime.
In an only slightly related question that relates to something that actually happened to me the other day, what is the appropriate action in polite society when someone playing you OTB accidentally moves four times during the opening two moves?
Originally posted by greenpawn34Thanks Greenpawn!
Has dozens of tales of players falling asleep at the board.
The famous Fischer - Addison tale is there where Fischer nodded off
and Addison made the worst move of his life by waking him up.