Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 21 Jun '06 13:47
    http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b177/gallicrow/Chess_Problem_1.jpg

    White to move and mate in three.

    Those of you who have read the "Game 2191106" thread will obviously know the trick.

    As far as I know this problem was composed by Tim Krabbé, who, incidentally, runs possibly the best chess site on the internet: http://www.chesscafe.com/
  2. 21 Jun '06 14:49
    I dont get it. there is no mate in three...
  3. 21 Jun '06 15:00 / 2 edits
    This should be easier to read:


    Whoops, I think I ballsed up the position. Try this one (Added Black pawn to h3).
  4. 21 Jun '06 17:14 / 1 edit
    Ok. Not much interest here, so I'll give the solution:

    Key: 1. e7

    A) 1. ... g5
    2. e8=R+
    A1) 2. ... Kf3
    3. o-o mate
    A2) 2. ... Kd3
    3. o-o-o mate

    B) 1. ... Kf3
    2. e8=R
    B1) 2. ... g5
    3. o-o mate
    B2) 2. ... Kg2
    3. o-o-o-o mate

    C) 1. ... Kd3
    2. e8=R
    C1) 2. ... g5
    3. o-o-o mate
    C2 2. ... Kc2
    3. o-o-o-o mate
  5. 21 Jun '06 18:48
    And you didnt bother to mention this puzzle involves an illegal move? bravo...
  6. 21 Jun '06 18:51
    It wasn't illegal when the puzzle was composed.
  7. Standard member Red Night
    RHP Prophet
    21 Jun '06 18:59
    Originally posted by Fat Lady
    This should be easier to read:
    [fen]8/8/4P1p1/3p4/2pP2p1/1pP1k1Pp/1P5P/R3K2R w KQ 0 1[/fen]

    Whoops, I think I ballsed up the position. Try this one (Added Black pawn to h3).
    Is this from the game? Or is this just a puzzle using the old rule?
  8. 21 Jun '06 19:15
    It's a puzzle, not from a real game.
  9. 21 Jun '06 19:17
    Originally posted by Red Night
    Is this from the game? Or is this just a puzzle using the old rule?
    The "old rule" was never a rule, only a flaw in the rule book.
    Has been used only once, and then not without heavy discussion.
    The rule was rewritten when the fault was recognized.
  10. Standard member leisurelysloth
    Man of Steel
    21 Jun '06 19:41
    Originally posted by FabianFnas
    The "old rule" was never a rule, only a flaw in the rule book.
    Has been used only once, and then not without heavy discussion.
    The rule was rewritten when the fault was recognized.
    "old rule" ??
  11. Standard member Red Night
    RHP Prophet
    21 Jun '06 19:52
    Originally posted by leisurelysloth
    "old rule" ??
    Apparently in 1903 or 1904, in a Master's game, one of the players castled using a promoted pawn turned into a rook on e8 and a king on e1.

    The Rook ended up on e2 and the King on e3.

    Because the Rook on e8 and the King on e1 had never moved they were able to castle under the rules as written at the time. This was an unintended consequence of a poorly written rule and the rule was quickly re-written.

    I would love to see the game in question, as it is hard to imagine the situation where it would make sense.
  12. Standard member leisurelysloth
    Man of Steel
    21 Jun '06 20:01
    Thanks for clearing that up.