1. Account suspended
    Moves
    14 Dec '07 21:06
    my style of play involves (mind, I'm not very good at my style, but I am really trying to improve it.) closing off the position, playing positionally, and opening it back up again at a time of my choosing. if my opponent insists on staying aggressive, then I play defense until his attack has exhausted itself. then I counter-attack. my threefold question is this:
    1.) how can I improve my positional understanding
    2.) how can I improve how I defend (there are several pieces of work on how to attack, and mating tactics and such, but how do I build the best defense from any given position?)
    3.) what is the most closed response to 1. e4?
    I'm thinking Modern, but I'm open to suggestions.
  2. Account suspended
    Moves
    14 Dec '07 21:10
    Lot of questions.. wow.

Hard to have a genuine 'style' in chess.. it's usually just about chosing the best moves.

When you have significant options your best bet is to stick to general principles about chess.

When there are STILL options available... take the most agressive one 😉.
  3. Account suspended
    Moves
    14 Dec '07 21:19
    Originally posted by ih8sens
    Lot of questions.. wow.

Hard to have a genuine 'style' in chess.. it's usually just about chosing the best moves.

When you have significant options your best bet is to stick to general principles about chess.

When there are STILL options available... take the most agressive one 😉.
    that's a style, and yours and mine differ.
    you take the aggressive approach every time the opportunity presents itself.
    That's probably because you enjoy Tal so much.
    I, on the other hand, prefer to make the passively aggressive move. the move that makes my aggressive opponent's life difficult. I have zero problem playing defense. I prefer counter-attack to attack.
    THAT is style difference.
  4. Account suspended
    Moves
    14 Dec '07 21:22