Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 25 Jun '09 14:09 / 1 edit
    I was feeling very good in this game and when my opponent,Robin,played 15.Rd1? I thought the point was already mine.A very dangerous state of mind.I was thinking 15....,Qxc3+ 16.Kh1,Nxf2 and I'll pick up a rook.Then I thought I might as well go 15....,Nxf2 right away.What's the difference,right?Not like he can do anything.
    Well,I noticed the difference when Robin uncorked 16.0-0! knocking me off my chair.
    Seriously,who,as an attacker,thinks of castling in this position?It should be against the rules



    Lucky for me he did miss the better 18.Rxf2 or 18.Rxe3+ and I still managed to steal a draw

  2. 25 Jun '09 17:01
    "Seriously,who,as an attacker,thinks of castling in this position?It should be against the rules "

    Once you have seen Hoffman-Petrov, Warsaw 1844 you never
    forget one can castle with a Knight on f2 or f7.

  3. 25 Jun '09 17:16
    you Latvian guys are not happy unless you are throwing rooks and pawns and knights and kitchen sinks into the sacrificial melee, have you no decency, no sense of decorum, no fear??
  4. 25 Jun '09 17:24
    We fear the endgame.
  5. 25 Jun '09 18:09 / 1 edit
    Lol, do you know greenpawn dude i bare the surname of a famous Scottish master, the illustrious James Macrae Aitken, if only he had passed on his chess genes, i would be dictating my genius to Jonathan Rowanson my personal secretary!
  6. 25 Jun '09 18:13
    Here's another example of White castling when Black has a knight on f2. Didn't turn out too well for him though.

  7. 25 Jun '09 20:54
    Originally posted by Fat Lady
    Here's another example of White castling when Black has a knight on f2. Didn't turn out too well for him though.

    [pgn]
    [Event "Las Palmas"]
    [Site "13"]
    [Date "1973.??.??"]
    [EventDate "?"]
    [Round "?"]
    [Result "0-1"]
    [White "Ljubomir Ljubojevic"]
    [Black "Leonid Stein"]
    [ECO "A01"]
    [WhiteElo "?"]
    [BlackElo "?"]
    [PlyCount "50"]

    1.b3 e5 2.Bb2 d ...[text shortened]... 2 Qxe3 22.Qxd6 Qe5
    23.Qd2 Rad8 24.Qxa5 Ne4 25.Ne6+ Qxe6 0-1

    [/pgn]
    Why did white play 10. Rd1? 10.Nd5 seems better.
  8. 25 Jun '09 22:32 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Thomaster
    Why did white play 10. Rd1? 10.Nd5 seems better.
    I guess he was hoping for 10. ... Nfe4 11. Qxg7+! Kxg7 12. Nxe4+ Kg8 13. Nxc5.

    After 10. Nd5 Nh5 11. Qd2 Bxb2 12. Qxb2 is looks about equal.
  9. 25 Jun '09 23:43
    Originally posted by Romanticus
    I was feeling very good in this game and when my opponent,Robin,played 15.Rd1? I thought the point was already mine.A very dangerous state of mind.I was thinking 15....,Qxc3+ 16.Kh1,Nxf2 and I'll pick up a rook.Then I thought I might as well go 15....,Nxf2 right away.What's the difference,right?Not like he can do anything.
    Well,I noticed the difference w ...[text shortened]... c3 29. Bb4 Qd4 30. Qxd4 Rxd4 31. Bc5 Rc4 32. Bg1 Kxb7 33. h3 1/2-1/2[/pgn]
    I'd say 18.Rxf2 is a knockout punch. 18.Rxe3+ is strong but, if this is blitz, it's still game on.


    Plus I don't get how you would not play 15..Qxc3+? It grabs a pawn, but besides that its only point is to prevent white from castling. If you already saw 15...Qxc3+ why second guess yourself? The saying goes, "when find a good move sit on your hands and find a better one" or something like that but the key word is better!


    Not and equal one and definately not a worse one!
  10. Subscriber PureRWandB
    CCC Club Leader
    26 Jun '09 00:16 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Romanticus
    I was feeling very good in this game and when my opponent,Robin,played 15.Rd1? I thought the point was already mine.A very dangerous state of mind.I was thinking 15....,Qxc3+ 16.Kh1,Nxf2 and I'll pick up a rook.Then I thought I might as well go 15....,Nxf2 right away.What's the difference,right?Not like he can do anything.
    Well,I noticed the difference w c3 29. Bb4 Qd4 30. Qxd4 Rxd4 31. Bc5 Rc4 32. Bg1 Kxb7 33. h3 1/2-1/2[/pgn]
    Romanticus, you are a much better chess player then I, but...

    What would happen after move 22.Qg7...etc

    [/b]


    Black is forced to lose the knight....
    If black goes to Kc6... its mate in 4

    If black goes to Kc8... King ends up running and losing on tempo.

    Any suggestions?
  11. 26 Jun '09 01:05
    Originally posted by PureRWandB
    Romanticus, you are a much better chess player then I, but...

    What would happen after move 22.Qg7...etc

    [pgn][Event "Open invite"] [Site "http://www.playtheimmortalgam"] [Date "2009.06.02"] [Round "?"] [White "robincoup"] [Black "Romanticus"] [Result "1/2-1/2"] [ECO "C40"] [PlyCount "65"] [EventDate "2009.??.??"] 1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 f5 3. Nc3 fxe4 4. N ...[text shortened]... goes to Kc8... King ends up running and losing on tempo.

    Any suggestions?
    If 22.Qg7+? black can't play 22...Kc6 since he has a knight there so 22...Kc8 23.gxh3 Be4+ 24.Rxe4 Qxe4+ 25.Kg1 Qe3+ 26.Kg2 Qxc3 27.Qxg6 Nxd4 and black is doing just fine.
  12. 26 Jun '09 01:05 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by PureRWandB
    Romanticus, you are a much better chess player then I, but...

    What would happen after move 22.Qg7...etc

    [pgn][Event "Open invite"] [Site "http://www.playtheimmortalgam"] [Date "2009.06.02"] [Round "?"] [White "robincoup"] [Black "Romanticus"] [Result "1/2-1/2"] [ECO "C40"] [PlyCount "65"] [EventDate "2009.??.??"] 1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 f5 3. Nc3 fxe4 4. N ...[text shortened]... goes to Kc8... King ends up running and losing on tempo.

    Any suggestions?
    Oh didn't notice you were wondering what happens after 22.Qg7+ Ne7?? Well to answer that question, what happens is that black eventually gets mated. Black shouldn't play 22...Ne7.
  13. Subscriber PureRWandB
    CCC Club Leader
    26 Jun '09 02:22
    Ne7 is forced... is it not?
  14. 26 Jun '09 03:03
    Originally posted by PureRWandB
    Ne7 is forced... is it not?
    See two posts above yours. ^^^
  15. 26 Jun '09 03:07
    Originally posted by PureRWandB
    Romanticus, you are a much better chess player then I, but...

    What would happen after move 22.Qg7...etc

    [pgn][Event "Open invite"] [Site "http://www.playtheimmortalgam"] [Date "2009.06.02"] [Round "?"] [White "robincoup"] [Black "Romanticus"] [Result "1/2-1/2"] [ECO "C40"] [PlyCount "65"] [EventDate "2009.??.??"] 1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 f5 3. Nc3 fxe4 4. N ...[text shortened]... goes to Kc8... King ends up running and losing on tempo.

    Any suggestions?
    I looked at that during the game.I had:

    22.Qg7,Kc8 White still needs to pick up a piece so he'll most likely play 23.gxh3 then 23.....,Be4+ regains the exchange for Black.I don't see a problem with that.In fact,I think Black might be slightly better in that line.