1. Joined
    11 Aug '08
    Moves
    23 Jan '09 20:46
    Hi,

I'm about to take part in my first OTB tournament on Sunday. It's rapidplay, 30 minutes per player per game. I've never used a clock before and was wondering if anybody could offer any advice about time management and just general OTB guidelines.

Cheers,

lordgledhill
  2. Joined
    26 Jun '06
    Moves
    23 Jan '09 20:55
    Originally posted by lordgledhill
    Hi,

I'm about to take part in my first OTB tournament on Sunday. It's rapidplay, 30 minutes per player per game. I've never used a clock before and was wondering if anybody could offer any advice about time management and just general OTB guidelines.

Cheers,

lordgledhill
    youre going to be blown away unless you get a perspective of what 30 minutes a side really means for how much time you have per in different stages of the game. after a while of playing with a clock youll subconsciously be able to play with it without hindering your game. you should play some 30 minute blitz on here. after the game look how much time is left. ask: did i play a quality game? was this a long or short game? how much extra time did i have, did i get into time trouble?
  3. Standard memberclandarkfire
    Grammar Nazi
    Auschwitz
    Moves
    23 Jan '09 21:06
    It seems like really fast controlls, but 30 minutes is actually a long time. Try to use most of your time, but don't let your clock get under 5 minutes for most of the game, because it can really cause problems. Know your opening, and you should be able to play the first 10 moves in 5 to 10 minutes.
  4. Joined
    26 Jun '06
    Moves
    23 Jan '09 21:07
    Originally posted by clandarkfire
    It seems like really fast controlls, but 30 minutes is actually a long time. Try to use most of your time, but don't let your clock get under 5 minutes for most of the game, because it can really cause problems. Know your opening, and you should be able to play the first 10 moves in 5 to 10 minutes.