1. Standard memberDies Irae
    I Love U
    LaLa Land
    Moves
    08 Dec '06 09:34
    I'm new in these parts so I'm not sure if this is where this would go but..

I played this sacrifice wrong in a game today, so I don't know exactly how it would have turned out. But here's what I wanted to do...

22. ...c5
    23. Nc2 Bg4
    24. h3 Bxh3
    25. gxh3 Ng3
    26. Kf2 Nxf1
    27. Kxf1 Qh1+
    28. Kkf2 Qh2+
    29. Kf3 Qh1+
    30. Kf2 Qxh3

I was wondering if trading 2 minor pieces for a rook and 2 pawns in this particular position was a sound strategy. It seemed to me I was exposing the king pretty good and getting even material for it. Also, I was wondering if my sacrifice was even legit. I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff so any help from pro-analyzers would be appreciated.

The game it came from...

Game 2847228
  2. Standard membermalinga
    That would be me
    Behind the couch
    Moves
    08 Dec '06 10:28
    Had a look at this and it would be a nice sac with more than enough compensation. Problem is I don't think White woulsd respond to c5 with Nc2. Why wouldn't he just play NxB?
  3. Standard memberDies Irae
    I Love U
    LaLa Land
    Moves
    08 Dec '06 10:412 edits
    Yes. You are absolutely right. Thats a very logical move. The only reason I'd see not playing it would be that its really his only developed piece, with his bishop and rook penned in. That would probably be the only reason not to. But then again retreating cedes to an attack and blocks the queen so I guess he'd probably take. Another possibility is Ne2, which guards g3, if he played defensively. I hate pesky knights!

Thanks for your help. I guess I have a lot of noobish tendencies to work off, not calculating lines thoroughly...
  4. Joined
    21 Feb '06
    Moves
    08 Dec '06 10:531 edit
    In the game you missed a chance of getting the sacrificed piece back - instead of 32...h5, better is 32....Rxf2+ 33.Kxf2 Rd2+
  5. Standard memberDies Irae
    I Love U