Hello.

Humans use:
    Pawn = 1
    Knight = 3
    Bishop = 3
    Rook = 5
    Queen = 9 or 9.5
    Bishop pair = +0.5

But I would like to know what relative point values do engines use (preferably strong engines, like Stockfish, Houdini, Rybka, Komodo, ...).

If the point value that the engine assign to the pieces depends on the position of the pieces on the board (for example a White Knight on a1 is only worth 2.7 but on e5 it's worth 3.3), than I would like to know the average point values of the pieces.

Thanks in advance for your answers.
  2. Standard memberBigDogg
    Secret RHP coder
    on the payroll
    Moves
    30 Jul '14 18:43
    Originally posted by Marc Benford
    Hello.

Humans use:...
    Bishop pair = +0.5
    That's a new one for me.
  3. SubscriberPonderable
    chemist
    Linkenheim
    Moves
    30 Jul '14 20:00
    I think the basic algorithms use the human values. And then points are added adn subtracted for position, but I am just a layman on that.
  4. Joined
    12 Nov '06
    Moves
    30 Jul '14 21:251 edit
    The points system really doesn't tell the full story. In a world without endgames, I would give the rook 3.5-4 points. I mean you can sac a rook for a knight in the first 15 moves and you wont really feel it until the ending. Same could be said for pawns.

The bishop pair is an advantage in theory, they cover each others weaknesses. But I have never seen anyone win a game because of a bishop pair. It might be +0.1 or +0.2, but taking it to +0.5 is way too far IMO.
  5. SubscriberPaul Leggett
    Chess Librarian
    The Stacks
    Moves
    31 Jul '14 09:031 edit
    Originally posted by KnightStalker47
    The points system really doesn't tell the full story. In a world without endgames, I would give the rook 3.5-4 points. I mean you can sac a rook for a knight in the first 15 moves and you wont really feel it until the ending. Same could be said for pawns.