1. Joined
    21 Jan '07
    Moves
    21 Jan '07 19:08
    Hello! Im new to Red Hot Pawn. Looks like a great place to learn and meet good people. Ive bin playing chess on and off for a while and Im really looking to learn this great game really well. I know how the pieces move and the rules but I dont know what to do to advance my game.
    Where do I go from here? I dont know much tactics or much about opening moves. Ive looked at opening moves like English opening but I have no clue why Im doing it or what to do after I open.

Its frustrating. I want to push my self but dont really know where to start. I love this game. Its soooo much fun. The tactics, strategy and the history. Its great. Mabey I need someone to evaluate my game see where I should go from here. Olny problem is I dont think I have much of a game, if any. Well thaknyou and nice to meet you all.
  2. Standard memberDiet Coke
    Forum Vampire
    Sidmouth, Uk
    Moves
    21 Jan '07 19:42
    Play 20 games and then come back.
    Use 1/0 timebanks so you're not waiting.
  3. Joined
    03 Jan '07
    Moves
    21 Jan '07 19:48
    Play and learn from your mistakes (analyze your games). Get ready to blunder a lot 🙂
  4. Joined
    06 Aug '05
    Moves
    21 Jan '07 19:52
    I'd say that the first step would be to play a few games, concentrate on not giving material away for nothing. Without this first step, everything else is almost pointless!

Once you finish a game look at it again, if you lost it, then look to see what your opponent did to win the game, try and emulate what your opponent did to you by doing it to others.
  5. Kalamazoo, MI
    Moves
    21 Jan '07 19:53
    IF you are in a populated area try to find a club near you.
  6. Joined
    30 Oct '05
    Moves
    21 Jan '07 19:54
    Originally posted by Diet Coke
    Play 20 games and then come back.
    Use 1/0 timebanks so you're not waiting.