1. Joined
    17 Jul '11
    Moves
    18 Jul '11 09:12
    Hello, I'm new to RHP. My opening repotoir is extremely limited and I wanted to know which were some of the more common and useful openings to learn first.

Hope somebody will help
  2. Joined
    23 Sep '08
    Moves
    18 Jul '11 11:57
    Originally posted by AussieDave
    Hello, I'm new to RHP. My opening repotoir is extremely limited and I wanted to know which were some of the more common and useful openings to learn first.

Hope somebody will help
    Scotch game as white, kings indian defence as black, or you could try the budapest gambit for some fun.
  3. Standard memberwormwood
    If Theres Hell Below
    We're All Gonna Go!
    Moves
    18 Jul '11 12:05
    it doesn't matter. pick one, any one. if you don't like it, try another one.
  4. bedlam
    Moves
    18 Jul '11 12:06

Hope somebody will help
    What's your current repertoire?
    Do you like it?
    Are you new to chess?
    Do you have a rating (grade)?
  5. c6
    Moves
    18 Jul '11 12:52
    Learn boring "correct" stuff first, since it crops up the most. Eventually, you'll learn what types of positions make you happiest, and adapt your repertoire accordingly.
  6. SubscriberRagwort
    Senecio Jacobaea
    Yorkshire
    Moves
    18 Jul '11 13:18

Hope somebody will help
    Once you start down this road there is almost no turning back. You begin to commit more time, and most likely expense, on books, DVDs, tuition, Internet courses, and God knows what else. At this stage it becomes more than a game. You can become haunted by the notion that there may be a bust to your latest pet variation, and you begin to scour the databases in case some obscure master game has found something. Then you subject the positions to deep analysis with several computer engines in an attempt to find the truth of what is going on.