Originally posted by hrhpablo
Only 2 kings left on the board, but my opponent had to offer me a draw to end the game?
Have I missed an obscure chess rule, or is this a system error?
The actual relevant Law is given below.
From the FIDE Laws of Chess : -
5.2 b The game is drawn when a position has arisen in which neither player can checkmate the opponent`s king with any series of legal moves. The game is said to end in a `dead position`. This immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the position was legal.
So the game: hrhpablo v fleshcrafter was an automatic draw after White's 48th move.