1. Standard memberdfm65
    The Godfather
    e8
    Moves
    20 Jun '04 08:19
    From memory this is (e to the power -i * pi) +1 = 0 (i may not have got that exactly right). This has been a source of amazement to me. Does anyone have any light to shed on the subject?
  2. Standard memberTheMaster37
    Kupikupopo!
    Out of my mind
    Moves
    20 Jun '04 10:16
    As a mathematician i've been dealing with these thing for quite some time now, it's a beautifull concept.

exp(2i*Pi/n) is a n-th root of unity. Visualise a unit circle in the complex plane, and divide the perimeter in a number (say n) of equal parts. The points you get that way are called the n-th roots of unity.

All those roots have this property (root)^n = 1

Try is for yourself in the case n=2 (the only roots then are on the horizontal axis; 1 and -1) or n=4 (1, -1, i, -i).

the coordinate of such a root is (cos(2*Pi/n) , sin(2*Pi/n)). Or written as a complex number: cos(2*Pi/n) + i*sin(2*Pi/n). This last expression is the definition of exp(2i*Pi/n).

With the exponential, taking the n-th power is easy:
    (exp(2i*Pi/n))^n = exp(2i*Pi)
    Again, using the definition; exp(2i*Pi) = cos(2*Pi) + i*sin(2*Pi) = 1
  3. Standard memberdfm65
    The Godfather
    e8
    Moves
    21 Jun '04 03:34
    thanks Master37, i'll chew on that for awhile...
  4. Standard memberTheMaster37
    Kupikupopo!
    Out of my mind
    Moves
    21 Jun '04 17:59
    😀
  5. Joined
    04 May '04
    Moves
    25 Jun '04 14:17
    Originally posted by dfm65
    From memory this is (e to the power -i * pi) +1 = 0 (i may not have got that exactly right). This has been a source of amazement to me. Does anyone have any light to shed on the subject?
    This is simply because,
    exp(i*x) = cos x + i sin x.
  6. Standard memberdfm65
    The Godfather
    e8
    Moves
    26 Jun '04 03:51
    Originally posted by rspoddar82
    This is simply because,
    exp(i*x) = cos x + i sin x.