1. Joined
    28 Mar '05
    Moves
    251
    01 Apr '05 22:251 edit
    a premiere,
    My first composed chessproblem on rhp 😀

    Is this position legal, and why is or isn't it.



    please also tell me what you think about it, hard, easy, fun, boring, etc.
  2. Joined
    28 Mar '05
    Moves
    251
    01 Apr '05 22:27
    Originally posted by Siebren
    a premiere,
    My first composed chessproblem on rhp

    Is this position legal, and why is or isn't it.

    [fen]rkb2b2/1pnppp1p/6p1/8/7B/2P1Pn2/1P1PP2P/1N1QKBNR w - - 0 1[/fen]

    please also tell me what you think about it, hard, easy, fun, boring, etc.
    Oh I forgot,.... it is whites move offcourse,....
  3. Standard memberPBE6
    Bananarama
    False berry
    Joined
    14 Feb '04
    Moves
    28719
    01 Apr '05 22:31
    Illegal. White's black-square bishop couldn't have gotten out because the b- and d-pawns haven't moved.

    Do I gots it?

  4. Joined
    28 Mar '05
    Moves
    251
    01 Apr '05 22:42
    Nope
  5. Berks.
    Joined
    27 Nov '04
    Moves
    41991
    01 Apr '05 22:522 edits
    I think it is. (edit: especially from the previous post)

    White needs to have promoted a pawn onto a free black square, two of which at b8 and d8 will do.

    Black can get all of his king side pieces out of the way, thanks to the g pawn being moved - including bringing the rook over. Getting the queen out of the way.

    White plays his a pawn up to a5, rook escapes to b6.

    Blacks a pawn takes rook, then white pawn in turn captures pawns on b6, c7 before capturing a rook on d8 (from h8 originally, can get to that square), promoting to bishop.

    Black knight captures the bishop on c1 and the g pawn.

    Black loses his queen on e3 (pawn capture)
  6. Joined
    28 Mar '05
    Moves
    251
    01 Apr '05 23:07
    Very good peakite.

    Now lets make things a little harder,

    Lets try the following diagram



    Given is that Black is still able to castle. Is this a legal position?
  7. Berks.
    Joined
    27 Nov '04
    Moves
    41991
    01 Apr '05 23:221 edit
    Yes, even with your stipulation of the king having not moved.

    The g-pawn can promote by capturing three pieces (not pawns) and the f-pawn needs to capture another.

    Queen and rook make two (the rook one of the last two captures - cannot escape from behind the pawns. Captures on f6/h6, g7 and either f8/h8.

    Both blacks a and c pawns can promote. White moves his a-pawn forward to let out the rook, c-pawn takes rook on b, then a pawn. Both black pawns can promote to provide extra pieces (queen, knight or rook will do).

    Whites black bishop taken as before.
  8. Joined
    28 Mar '05
    Moves
    251
    01 Apr '05 23:30
    Originally posted by Peakite
    Yes, even with your stipulation of the king having not moved.

    The g-pawn can promote by capturing three pieces (not pawns) and the f-pawn needs to capture another.

    Queen and rook make two (the rook one of the last two captures - cannot escape from behind the pawns. Captures on f6/h6, g7 and either f8/h8.

    Both blacks a and c pawns can promote. White ...[text shortened]... to provide extra pieces (queen, knight or rook will do).

    Whites black bishop taken as before.
    100% Correct.

    Your good!
Back to Top