Originally posted by ilywrin Since it is obviously black to move. 0...c6 1.b4 Ka3 2.Ra1 #
Hey buddy!......... so you do come around here to post too! Well, not that I'm haunting you with this puzzle addiction, but why is it 'obviously' black's move in this case? How did you figure that out?
Originally posted by ckoh1965 Hey buddy!......... so you do come around here to post too! Well, not that I'm haunting you with this puzzle addiction, but why is it 'obviously' black's move in this case? How did you figure that out?
Because black couldn't have played the last move. His pawn hasn't gone anywhere, and all three spaces that the king could have directly come from would all have resulted in an illegal check. a3 and b3 are ruled out as it cannot have been put in check by an unmoved pawn, at a1 the rook couldn't have given a check by capturing on b1 due to the white king on c1. The king must have made it to a2 via b1, but in order for white to block him in, black needs to move something else. That was captured on either c1 or c5 last move.
Originally posted by pootstick sorry. i'm clearly taking this far too seriously.
Hey, if solvers could just change anything they wanted, there'd be no point in having a stipulation, right? Just give 'em a board with some pieces on it and let them find whatever they want to find.
I should do that next. A 'free-solving' exercise, for all you who like to whine about how pedantic and/or serious I am. There will be no criticism of anyone - we are all equals. Just sit around the fire, pull up a chessboard, and let it speak to you. All solutions that come from the heart are correct.