1. Joined
    29 Apr '05
    Moves
    23 Oct '05 19:13
    im studying physics now and we get all kind of funny problems to solve there. here is one:

an oldtimer is driving from A to B. there is no wind but its raining nonstop. the oldtimer has 2 problems: there's a big hole in the horizontal roof where its raining through, and the vertical windshield (90° to the roof) is missing. so through both of these openings its raining.

how does the amount of water that gets into the car depend on the constant speed the car goes with?

ps: sorry for bad translation 🙂
  2. Standard memberAThousandYoung
    or different places
    tinyurl.com/2tp8tyx8
    Moves
    23 Oct '05 21:58
    Originally posted by crazyblue
    im studying physics now and we get all kind of funny problems to solve there. here is one:

an oldtimer is driving from A to B. there is no wind but its raining nonstop. the oldtimer has 2 problems: there's a big hole in the horizontal roof where its raining through, and the vertical windshield (90° to the roof) is missing. so through both of these open ...[text shortened]... into the car depend on the constant speed the car goes with?

ps: sorry for bad translation 🙂
    Are you looking for help for your homework? If so then we shouldn't do more than give some hints.
  3. Standard memberBowmann
    Non-Subscriber
    RHP IQ
    Moves
    23 Oct '05 22:57
    Yes, I think that's enough.
  4. Joined
    12 Aug '05
    Moves
    24 Oct '05 01:32
    Actually theres not enough information to tell unless we know that the holes are exactly the same size.
  5. Joined
    29 Apr '05
    Moves
    24 Oct '05 05:04
    no, i solved it already. i just posted it here for your entertainment 🙂
    and for the hole sizes, you can do that in general as A1 and A2 or whatever you want to call it. but it does not really matter for the solution.
  6. Standard memberAThousandYoung
    or different places
    tinyurl.com/2tp8tyx8
    Moves
    24 Oct '05 06:32