Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Posers and Puzzles

Posers and Puzzles

1. Donation !~TONY~!
    1...c5!
    26 Oct '04 02:24
    I am studying for a quiz tomorrow in Calc II and ran across I problem that I know we did in class but I don't know how to do it and didn't copy it down. (idiot, I know). The question is : Find whether the sequence (N + 1/ N) ^ N from N= 1 to infinity converges or diverges, and if it converges, where? The answer is e, but I didn't some mumbo jumbo that didn't work, and I don't even know if it's mathematically legal. Anyone know how to do this?
  2. Standard member telerion
    True X X Xian
    26 Oct '04 04:50
    Originally posted by !~TONY~!
    I am studying for a quiz tomorrow in Calc II and ran across I problem that I know we did in class but I don't know how to do it and didn't copy it down. (idiot, I know). The question is : Find whether the sequence (N + 1/ N) ^ N from N= 1 to infinity converges or diverges, and if it converges, where? The answer is e, but I didn't some mumbo jumbo that didn't work, and I don't even know if it's mathematically legal. Anyone know how to do this?
    Well let's see. Just so that I'm sure. Is it [(n+1)/n]^n or is it [n+(1/n)]^n?

The first one just goes to 1. Since it can be rewritten

[1+(1/n)]^n which as n-> infinite goes to 1^n = 1.

So I don't suppose that's the version of it.

The second one clearly diverges. Again in the limit, 1/n -> 0, and so the sequence -> infinite^infinite .

You're sure the answer is e?

Maybe the question was a little different?

Well, that's my two cents. I'll differ to one of the mathematicians on the site if I'm missing something.
  3. Subscriber AThousandYoung
    It's about respect
    26 Oct '04 08:14 / 1 edit
    http://mathworld.wolfram.com/e.html

e is defined as lim(n=>infinity) (1+(1/n))^n = ((n+1)/n)^n

There's all kinds of stuff about e there.

I'm trying to find the answer to your question now.
  4. Subscriber AThousandYoung