1. Standard membertalzamir
    Art, not a Toil
    60.13N / 25.01E
    Moves
    13 Oct '11 09:03
    An apprentice witch will work for a year and a day, that is, a total of 366 days. Young Rowena gets such a job, and it is paid a daily wage that is some small sum, less than one galleon per day, in addition to room and board.

At the end of the apprenticeship, Rowena takes all the coins to the Gringotts bank and gets told she now has a pile of galleons, 11 sickles, and 11 knuts.

How big is the pile of galleons?

(17 sickles make one galleon, and 29 knuts make one sickle)
  2. .
    Moves
    13 Oct '11 10:33
    Reveal Hidden Content
    300?

Where do you get all these puzzles?
  3. Standard membertalzamir
    Art, not a Toil
    60.13N / 25.01E
    Moves
    13 Oct '11 10:45
    You're correct. I've found two ways to get to the answer.. the brute-force method of checking all 493 possibilities one by one.. or the somewhat prettier one. I'm a teacher and like to add problems like these to the end of exams for those who finish early. Over the years I've both gathered and come up with quite a few.
  4. .
    Moves
    13 Oct '11 10:49
    I had an equation but ended up using brute force. Easy with a PC, harder with pen & paper nowadays given I have forgotten how to solve an equation containing 2 unknown values.

Loving the puzzles - the black jack dice was a real test of logic / probabilities.
  5. Standard membertalzamir
    Art, not a Toil
    60.13N / 25.01E
    Moves
    13 Oct '11 12:38
    *smiles* Glad you enjoy.

The second way I had in mind was to solve first the knuts..