1. Joined
    29 Apr '05
    Moves
    02 Sep '05 13:17
    hi,

i'm really a beginner at retro puzzles, that's why im posting this one here. the question is: what was black's last move? the only information you get is, that in the last 4 moves (i think it's halfmoves, so 2 white moves and 2 black moves) no piece was taking.

i think there are some retro experts here, that will say this problem is easy. please PM me your solution then, so i can see if my answer was correct. (im pretty sure it is!) 🙂

2. Earth Prime
    Moves
    02 Sep '05 13:471 edit
    just a random guess...

Bg3h4

No reasoning behind that other than it looks like the only piece that could have moved.

Edit: Although that move logically doesn't make any sense... whatever
  3. Standard memberBigDogg
    Secret RHP coder
    on the payroll
    Moves
    02 Sep '05 14:12
    Originally posted by crazyblue
    hi,

i'm really a beginner at retro puzzles, that's why im posting this one here. the question is: what was black's last move? the only information you get is, that in the last 4 moves (i think it's halfmoves, so 2 white moves and 2 black moves) no piece was taking.

i think there are some retro experts here, that will say this problem is easy. ple ...[text shortened]... correct. (im pretty sure it is!) 🙂

[fen]2B5/8/6P1/6Pk/3P2qb/3p4/3PB3/2NrNKQR w - - 0 1[/fen]
    Recognized this from Chess Mysteries of Sherlock Holmes by Smullyan.
  4. SubscriberSuzianne
    Misfit Queen
    Isle of Misfit Toys
    Moves
    02 Sep '05 16:02
    Originally posted by Coconut
    just a random guess...

Bg3h4

No reasoning behind that other than it looks like the only piece that could have moved.

Edit: Although that move logically doesn't make any sense... whatever
    no, it couldn't have been the bishop, because what then would have been White's last move? certainly not a rook move resulting in check, since the rook would have had to have moved from a square from which it was already giving check.