Site Ideas Forum

Site Ideas Forum

  1. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1962
    20 Feb '19 16:363 edits
    If you would like to help test the new dark mode implementation, you can do so now here :

    https://beta.redhotpawn.com

    Note : You must type https:// too, or you will be redirected to the existing site.

    Look for the moon icon below your avatar to switch modes.

    Also, in preparation for the alternative domains being greatly reduced ( see Thread 180065 ), you can now select a "theme" - named after the domains they replace.

    The theme defaults to the brand used at sign up, but can be changed at any time.

    My Settings >> Theme Settings

    Preview the theme, then press update to make the change permanent.

    The dark mode for every theme is identical.

    If you take a look, please provide your feedback here. Thank you!

    edit : If you are using the web site on a mobile device (phone, tablet) then the "Dark Mode" button is next to the "My Settings" button. (Click your avatar icon)

    edit2 : This beta also contains a version bump for some included libraries, so if you see any strange behaviour, please report it.
  2. Joined
    06 Jul '15
    Moves
    34020
    20 Feb '19 22:31
    thank you for your effort and kindness.
  3. SubscriberBigDoggProblem
    Court Jester
    lacking discretion
    Joined
    26 Nov '04
    Moves
    128221
    23 Feb '19 16:42
    would be nice to be able to select dark mode on a mobile browser...
  4. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1962
    24 Feb '19 14:31
    @BigDoggProblem

    It is there...select your avatar. Button at bottom of menu, next to sign out.
  5. Joined
    25 Jul '07
    Moves
    23994
    24 Feb '19 14:41
    @Russ

    Compared to the normal theme, the icons above the top menu bar (My Games/New Game/Open Invites/ ..) are not visible, so there is just the text which looks a bit odd.

    Win 10 / Firefox
  6. SubscriberBigDoggProblem
    Court Jester
    lacking discretion
    Joined
    26 Nov '04
    Moves
    128221
    24 Feb '19 16:18
    @Russ

    Found it...thanks.

    The thread lists have ugly white borders on every line...
  7. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1962
    25 Feb '19 18:391 edit
    @BigDoggProblem

    I have removed one bright line between the poster details and the post content.

    ← Here

    But I'm not 100% sure that is the one you are referring to?
  8. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1962
    25 Feb '19 20:10
    Ah, I see, you are referring to mobile rendering of the threads. Yes, that is ugly.
  9. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1962
    26 Feb '19 10:59
    This update has now been released, thank you to everyone who checked it out whilst in beta.

    Another beta will be running soon which is for a new server build. Any assistance testing that would be greatly appreciated.

    This will be available within the next couple of weeks.
  10. Subscriberrookie54
    free tazer tickles..
    wildly content...
    Joined
    09 Mar '08
    Moves
    147446
    26 Feb '19 17:01
    mojave 10.14.3
    chrome 72.0.3626.119
    thank you for continually updating my favorite place to be on the net, both for chess and chat...
    so far, i enjoy everything you've done, except one...
    there are three toolbars at the top of my browser, it's the middle one that has me seeing red...
    HA!!! see what i did there???
    when i click on the dark mode icon in that middle toolbar, all the colors get dark or inverted, and the background color of the toolbar itself goes to black, which until today was default for playtheimmortalgame users...
    the default is red red red now, and i think you warned folks that this was going to happen...
    i really like the black background that it used to be, and i get briefly if i change to 'dark mode' and then back again...
    i do not find 'dark mode' to be advantageous for my olde eyes, so the standard color scheme is going to do for me,
    but,
    i sure would like to be able to change that background color of the middle toolbar from redredred to basic black...

    thanks for listening
  11. Subscriberrookie54
    free tazer tickles..
    wildly content...
    Joined
    09 Mar '08
    Moves
    147446
    26 Feb '19 17:12
    i found it!!!
    oh, happy day!!!
    callou callaa!!!
  12. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1962
    26 Feb '19 17:13
    Do not panic - this is easily resolved! 🙂

    I just posted about this to hopefully pre-empt questions regarding this

    Thread 180270.

    Hope that helps, if not, post in that thread too.
  13. Subscriberrookie54
    free tazer tickles..
    wildly content...
    Joined
    09 Mar '08
    Moves
    147446
    26 Feb '19 18:02
    @russ said
    Do not panic - this is easily resolved! 🙂

    I just posted about this to hopefully pre-empt questions regarding this

    Thread 180270.

    Hope that helps, if not, post in that thread too.
    lolllolololloolol
    how frustrating it must be to be a developer...

    all of the icons in the TOP toolbar have now disappeared, leaving only the text below them...

    sorry to be a pain
  14. Subscriberrookie54
    free tazer tickles..
    wildly content...
    Joined
    09 Mar '08
    Moves
    147446
    26 Feb '19 18:04
    @rookie54 said
    lolllolololloolol
    how frustrating it must be to be a developer...

    all of the icons in the TOP toolbar have now disappeared, leaving only the text below them...

    sorry to be a pain
    as i scroll thru the available themes, the icons do not appear in any of them...

    painboy
  15. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Joined
    21 Feb '01
    Moves
    1962
    27 Feb '19 11:18
    @rookie54

    Icons are not shown in dark mode, but should be present for all other themes.

    Closing this thread, as this beta is now over.
Back to Top