1. Joined
    17 Sep '11
    Moves
    21 Sep '11 23:46
    Hey guys! I'm relatively new to the site, so I'm still learning about the features here.

I've know that the green icon next to a player's name indicates that they have made a move within the past 10 minutes, which is a great feature because I know that they've been online within the past 10 minutes. However, the icon does not indicate whether a player is currently online or not, even if they have moved wihtin the last 10 minutes. On the "Find Player" page at the top, there is a box that says "Is Online Now?" for searching for a player, but that only shows players who have moved within the last 10 minutes. If you use the "Is Online Now?" option to look for yourself, and you haven't moved within the last 10 minutes, you won't find yourself, even if you're currently online.

My site idea is an icon next to each player's name (similar to the green icon) which will indicate if they are currently online. This way, we would be more likely to stay online and wait for our opponent(s) to move if we know they are online, or more likely to log off if none of them are online.

Ultimately, this feature would allow us to play more games and quicker games at the same time (not including blitz).

I would greatly appreciate thoughts anyone might have regarding my idea.

Thanks!
  2. Subscribercoquette
    Already mated
    Omaha, Nebraska, USA
    Moves
    22 Sep '11 06:13
    Originally posted by battlecry
    Hey guys! I'm relatively new to the site, so I'm still learning about the features here.

I've know that the green icon next to a player's name indicates that they have made a move within the past 10 minutes, which is a great feature because I know that they've been online within the past 10 minutes. However, the icon does not indicate whether a player i ...[text shortened]... would greatly appreciate thoughts anyone might have regarding my idea.

Thanks!
    more games? that's why we subscribe!
  3. THORNINYOURSIDE