1. Joined
    21 Nov '06
    Moves
    27 Feb '07 23:47
    I'm new to tournament chess. I'm curious if there are any tournament rules or guidelines for when a draw can be offered?

Take these two games for example:
    Game 3135541
    Game 3135545

Can anyone shed light on why a superior opponent agreed to draws in both games? It appears to me that these two players agreed to screw around in round 1 and just bye their way into round 2. In poker, something like this would be considered collusion and is prohibited. What about in chess?
  2. Account suspended
    Moves
    28 Feb '07 00:01
    its between the 2 players. the weaker player will just get knocked out in the next round.
  3. Standard memberArrakis
    D_U_N_E
    Account suspended
    Moves
    28 Feb '07 01:57
    Originally posted by SamSausage
    I'm new to tournament chess. I'm curious if there are any tournament rules or guidelines for when a draw can be offered?

Game 3135541
    Game 3135545

Can anyone shed light on why a superior opponent agreed to draws in both games? It appears to me that these two players agreed to screw around in round 1 an ...[text shortened]... ker, something like this would be considered collusion and is prohibited. What about in chess?
    I play poker and study Texas Hold'em. The top players often avoid going head to head while getting rid of the weaker players. Chessplayers do the same in OTB tournaments so why not here?
  4. Standard memberAiko
    Nearing 250000...!
    Moves
    28 Feb '07 04:08
    Originally posted by arrakis
    I play poker and study Texas Hold'em. The top players often avoid going head to head while getting rid of the weaker players. Chessplayers do the same in OTB tournaments so why not here?