1. Joined
    15 Oct '06
    Moves
    06 Jun '08 15:09
    From Morton Feldman:
    This is a true story, I was a student, just finishing up with Stefan Wolpe. Stefan was a Proletariat twelve-tone composer, there was a hell of a lot of them, and at one time. And I think that he was the best. He would talk about his music as gutter music, he would talk about, the one time he talked about the man in the street, and he was bawling me out, here I was twenty-two, twenty-three years old, and he was telling me the music is too esoteric, just too esoteric. And he's talking about the man in the street, and I was just meeting the artists in Greenwich Village. I was looking out, my eyes were better that time, it was Fourteenth Street and Sixth Avenue, and there was Jackson Pollock walking across the street. And that's my only defence about the man in the street.
  2. Joined
    15 Oct '06
    Moves
    06 Jun '08 16:172 edits
    After John Coltrane joined the Miles Davis group, his solos became increasingly long. This began to annoy Miles, so he asked him about it. Coltrane explained that, once he got started, his mind would be flooded with so many ideas that he didn't know how to stop. Miles, the older and more experienced musician, gave him the following advice: "Take the horn outcha mouth."
  3. Standard memberAttilaTheHorn
    Erro Ergo Sum
    In the Green Room
    Moves
    07 Jun '08 16:12
    Playing in an opera orchestra, I once saw a conductor enter the orchestra pit before a performances to great applause from the audience. As he mounted the podium, he turned to acknowedge the applause, bow to the audience, and smash his head against the railing behind him as he did, knocking himself out. It was hilarious, if it hadn't been so tragic. He was carted out of the pit and revived, but returned to conduct with an ugly bump on his forehead.
  4. Joined
    15 Oct '06
    Moves
    07 Jun '08 16:551 edit
    Originally posted by AttilaTheHorn