1. Standard memberSeitse
    Doug Stanhope
    That's Why I Drink
    Moves
    10 Mar '09 09:39
    Neruda is one of my favorite poets. From the gloomy, introspective verses of "Residencia en la Tierra" to the stormy verses of political nature in "Las Uvas y el Viento", he stands for me as one of the monsters (if not the monster) of modern Latin American poetry.

However, I sense a lot of its subtle sensuality is way lost when translated into English.

Not being a translator myself, I wonder: how can the beauty of Spanish language be passed to English and other languages?

Can an English speaker be touched by the verses of a particular poet after the translation?

Any of you has an opinion on Neruda's translations into English?

Any bilingual readers around?
  2. Standard memberBosse de Nage
    Zellulärer Automat
    Spiel des Lebens
    Moves
    10 Mar '09 10:051 edit
    Originally posted by Seitse

Any of you has an opinion on Neruda's translations into English?

Any bilingual readers around?
    My Spanish is fairly shocking, but I get by with facing-page translations. What you say is true: English translations of Neruda -- and Lorca -- lose an awful lot of meaning. As for the sound, well, that's a lost cause. Especially once having heard a recording of Neruda.

There are a lot of Spanish blogs the post out-of-print material, like this reading of Lorca by Rafael Alberti (when he was in exile in Argentina): http://losquenoseconsiguen.blogspot.com/2008/08/federico-garca-lorca-por-rafael-alberti.html

Translations of Borges are not as bad somehow, perhaps because his Spanish had a strange hint of English to it?

But a translation is better than nothing.
  3. Joined
    10 Jan '08
    Moves
    10 Mar '09 11:10
    it works both ways.

the spanish translation of the simpons and pretty much any english language comedy is shocking.