1. Joined
    10 May '09
    Moves
    02 Mar '10 21:33
    Am I the only one who thinks the show MythBusters is overrated? I'm a big fan of the science channel, the discovery channel and other educational programing.

I'm getting sick of all the MythBuster marathons and IMO the show doesn't warrant its level of popularity.

Admittedly I am not a scientist nor do I have any sort of science related degree. But even as a layperson I feel strongly that many of their "busting" techniques are sloppy, unscientific and borderline irrelevant to what they're trying to disprove. I also just don't find the show very entertaining.

In contrast I feel shows that really focus on science, like "The Universe," don't get enough recognition.
  2. Joined
    23 Jan '10
    Moves
    02 Mar '10 21:40
    Originally posted by USArmyParatrooper
    Am I the only one who thinks the show MythBusters is overrated? I'm a big fan of the science channel, the discovery channel and other educational programing.

I'm getting sick of all the MythBuster marathons and IMO the show doesn't warrant its level of popularity.

Admittedly I am not a scientist nor do I have any sort of science related deg ...[text shortened]... shows that really focus on science, like "The Universe," don't get enough recognition.
    Then why are you watching it? 🙄
  3. Joined
    06 May '05
    Moves
    02 Mar '10 21:45

Admittedly I am not a scientist nor do I have any sort of science related deg ...[text shortened]... shows that really focus on science, like "The Universe," don't get enough recognition.
    Mythbusters is not 100% pure scientific investigation of the myths they cover. That being said, they do a better job than most in at least applying that kind of principle into their investigations.

They also do a pretty good job in balancing logical analysis and well, being entertaining for television.