1. lazy boy derivative
    Moves
    10 Mar '12 12:09
    I read Will's column today addressing the federal government's ambition to create more standard curriculum. The Dept of Education was founded in 1979. I graduated in 1973. I can't see how this department has provided any improvement in educating our children. I'm quite the progessive but in this case perhaps this is big government for big government's sake with no actual outcome of improving anything.
  2. Joined
    07 Dec '05
    Moves
    10 Mar '12 14:35
    Originally posted by badmoon
    I read Will's column today addressing the federal government's ambition to create more standard curriculum. The Dept of Education was founded in 1979. I graduated in 1973. I can't see how this department has provided any improvement in educating our children. I'm quite the progessive but in this case perhaps this is big government for big government's sake with no actual outcome of improving anything.
    I agree.
    That is why Ron Paul and others are for doing away with the Dept. of Education.
  3. Joined
    02 Jan '06
    Moves
    10 Mar '12 14:55
    Heretic!!

Stone him!! 😛
  4. Joined
    29 Dec '08
    Moves
    10 Mar '12 18:57
    "A previous Department of Education was created in 1867 but soon was demoted to an Office in 1868.[3] As an agency not represented in the president's cabinet, it quickly became a relatively minor bureau in the Department of the Interior. In 1939, the bureau was transferred to the Federal Security Agency, where it was renamed the Office of Education. In 1953, the Federal Security Agency was upgraded to cabinet-level status as the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare." (Wikipedia)

Then in 1979...

Are you objecting to its location in the government? If it was a bad idea generally, it was in place when you graduated, it was just not at an independent cabinet level.
  5. Standard membersh76
    Civis Americanus Sum
    New York
    Moves
    11 Mar '12 00:28