1. Joined
    10 Nov '12
    Moves
    10 Jan '14 18:28
    Which one most interests you, and why? The Sumerians, the Indus civilization, the Shang, Romans, Greeks, Minoans, Aztecs, Incas, African civilizations?

You don't need to know a lot about them, just say if any have captured your imagination in any small or large way.

For me, the Romans are probably the most fascinating, mostly because I studied their occupation and transformation of Britain at school, and because of films like Ben Hur, Gladiator, Life of Brian etc. My history teacher was a real eccentric who would get very passionate about the battles in particular. I'll never forget his descriptions of the Legions' battle tactics such as the phalanxes (tight rectangular formations of men with shields on every side and above, making them immune to volleys of arrows or spears) and the graphic descriptions of swordplay. The sad thing is that parents today would complain about their (disgracefully spoilt) little Johnny being taught upsetting things (this was even starting to happen when I was there).

I love that the Romans were great engineers and builders and that so much of their architecture still exists, if mostly in ruins. There is a picture of a large model of ancient Rome in one of my books and its mind-boggling how much it resembles a modern city.

However, the Greeks are also becoming more interesting to me now that I am studying science. You can't help but admire them for their intellectual achievements and democracy.
  2. Subscribersonhouse
    Fast and Curious
    slatington, pa, usa
    Moves
    10 Jan '14 18:463 edits
    Originally posted by NoEarthlyReason
    Which one most interests you, and why? The Sumerians, the Indus civilization, the Shang, Romans, Greeks, Minoans, Aztecs, Incas, African civilizations?

You don't need to know a lot about them, just say if any have captured your imagination in any small or large way.