1. Standard memberchessturd
    Trump 2020
    Moves
    06 May '19 21:21
    If you declare bankruptcy can they go after your paycheck and garnish your wages?
    What happens after bankruptcy?
  2. Subscriberrookie54
    free tazer tickles..
    wildly content...
    Moves
    06 May '19 21:37
    @chessturd said
    If you declare bankruptcy can they go after your paycheck and garnish your wages?
    i am a certified lawyer...
    CID, OVR, pPud...
    you'll need to set up an appointment and come in to my office...
  3. Standard memberchessturd
    Trump 2020
    Moves
    06 May '19 21:41
    I'm not falling for that again rookie.
    The cops still come by to this day asking questions.
  4. Right here
    Moves
    06 May '19 21:56
    @chessturd said
    To have your bankruptcy filing accepted, your lawyer has a standard worksheet outlining all of your debts, basic living costs and income(s).
    After verifying the accuracy of those three categories, whatever is left over between income and basic living costs is the amount your attorney would request the court to accept in order to pay the debt obligations under your bankruptcy filing.
    (An exception to paying back is the Chapter 7, but passing the means test is required.)
    The court then orders your employer to garnish that amount from your wages until such time that the time limit or all of the debts have been satisfied--- as little as 36 months, but usually 60 months in Chapter 13's.
    Following the satisfaction of the time or amount, the court issues a discharge which declares your debts absolved.
    You are now free to start rebuilding your credit.
    Keep in mind: credit scores fade to dust.
    You may find yourself with no credit score at all which is problematic in then trying to build on!
    There are several ways around that, but it's critical to know that the five years frugally spent paying off your obligations is going to be the first leg.