General Forum

General Forum

Hack?

Subscriberbks2000
General 21 Jan '15 03:40
  1. Joined
    04 Oct '10
    Moves
    34716
    21 Jan '15 03:40
    Has the site been hacked? Or is it me? I'm getting redirected to retailers when I click on "analyze game"
  2. SubscriberBigDoggProblem
    The Advanced Mind
    bigdogghouse.com/RHP
    Joined
    26 Nov '04
    Moves
    120556
    21 Jan '15 03:41
    Originally posted by bks2000
    Has the site been hacked? Or is it me? I'm getting redirected to retailers when I click on "analyze game"
    It's you.
  3. Standard memberGrampy Bobby
    Boston Lad
    USA
    Joined
    14 Jul '07
    Moves
    43012
    21 Jan '15 03:49
    Originally posted by bks2000
    Has the site been hacked? Or is it me? I'm getting redirected to retailers when I click on "analyze game"
    Have you sent a Feedback?

    Bottom of your screen:

    Support
    Send Feedback
  4. SubscriberKewpie
    since 1-Feb-07
    Joined
    20 Jan '09
    Moves
    322302
    21 Jan '15 05:311 edit
    The usual reason for this is malware on your own computer, not anything on this site.

    There are a number of trojans out there which do this sort of thing, and you can easily catch the infection if you visit shopping sites or sports or gaming sites. Suggest you run one of the malware programs, such as Malwarebytes (free download from malwarebytes.org), before sending feedback if nothing is found and the problem persists. Virus software doesn't remove this kind of infection because it's adware, not a virus.
  5. SubscriberFMF
    Main Poster
    This Thread
    Joined
    28 Oct '05
    Moves
    29872
    21 Jan '15 05:36
    Originally posted by Kewpie
    Suggest you run one of the malware programs, such as Malwarebytes (free download from malwarebytes.org), before sending feedback if nothing is found and the problem persists.
    Unfortunately this program makes my PC hang.
  6. Subscriberdivegeester
    Racist, apparently
    Dumnonia
    Joined
    16 Feb '08
    Moves
    88343
    21 Jan '15 08:08
    Originally posted by bks2000
    Has the site been hacked? Or is it me? I'm getting redirected to retailers when I click on "analyze game"
    Suggest contacting this user for an encyclopaedic point of reference:

    @sonhouse
  7. Standard memberChessPraxis
    Cowboy From Hell
    American West
    Joined
    19 Apr '10
    Moves
    55013
    21 Jan '15 08:13
    Originally posted by divegeester
    Suggest contacting this user for an encyclopaedic point of reference:

    @sonhouse
    Son can have his guitar tech work it out. The guy's the best.
  8. Joined
    04 Oct '10
    Moves
    34716
    21 Jan '15 13:46
    I was afraid the problem was on my machine. But it only seems to occur on the RHP site. I did run Malwarebytes, and I use AVG (both free version) but the problem persists.
  9. Standard memberGrampy Bobby
    Boston Lad
    USA
    Joined
    14 Jul '07
    Moves
    43012
    21 Jan '15 18:48
    Originally posted by bks2000
    I was afraid the problem was on my machine. But it only seems to occur on the RHP site. I did run Malwarebytes, and I use AVG (both free version) but the problem persists.
    Feedback, Russ.
  10. SubscriberPonderable
    chemist
    Linkenheim
    Joined
    22 Apr '05
    Moves
    526294
    21 Jan '15 19:31
    Originally posted by bks2000
    I was afraid the problem was on my machine. But it only seems to occur on the RHP site. I did run Malwarebytes, and I use AVG (both free version) but the problem persists.
    ...and of course you tried it on sites which open new browser windows?

    I fear Russ can't do anything.
  11. SubscriberBigDoggProblem
    The Advanced Mind
    bigdogghouse.com/RHP
    Joined
    26 Nov '04
    Moves
    120556
    21 Jan '15 19:43
    Originally posted by Grampy Bobby
    Feedback, Russ.
    That won't help. He's obviously got some scumware lodged in his machine.

    Rare that MWB didn't fix it, though.

    To OP: are you sure you updated the MWB definitions before you scanned?
  12. Joined
    10 Nov '12
    Moves
    6889
    21 Jan '15 19:462 edits
    Originally posted by bks2000
    I was afraid the problem was on my machine. But it only seems to occur on the RHP site. I did run Malwarebytes, and I use AVG (both free version) but the problem persists.
    It likely is only on your machine, or possibly your local network (ie in your house). But more likely your machine. Try using a different browser, and also try using a different machine. You don't need to do this permanently, just to verify where the problem is occurring. There are a few other spyware detectors, try using those, as most people reckon you need about four different ones to catch all malware.

    Sounds like some program might be working in the background to hijack pop-up windows in your browser.

    If the malware programs don't find the culprit, try disabling all your browser extensions and re-enabling them one by one; you might be able to short-cut this by looking for any suspicious extensions you don't remember installing.
  13. SubscriberKewpie
    since 1-Feb-07
    Joined
    20 Jan '09
    Moves
    322302
    21 Jan '15 20:24
    Also read through the list of installed programs: if there's anything you can't identify, compare its installed date with others in the list and you should find what it came with. If you can't match the date, try googling the program name. I've found several nasties this way.
  14. Joined
    04 Oct '10
    Moves
    34716
    21 Jan '15 20:26
    I did update MWB before the scan. The problem presented itself again after I ran MWB and scanned for viruses, but I know adware is different from a virus. Lately it seems to be stable - no redirects. But the problem only appeared when I was in RHP... not in any other sites.
  15. Standard memberGrampy Bobby
    Boston Lad
    USA
    Joined
    14 Jul '07
    Moves
    43012
    21 Jan '15 20:28
    Originally posted by BigDoggProblem
    That won't help. He's obviously got some scumware lodged in his machine.

    Rare that MWB didn't fix it, though.

    To OP: are you sure you updated the MWB definitions before you scanned?
    No issues with my software; only concern was that this site might be compromised. I have no technical depth.
Back to Top