Originally posted by Saint Nick
No, The games isn't actually rated until two moves are made by each player.
You can resign the game before then without affecting your rating. This is done frequnetly by people who entered a tourney (game can not be deleted) but then find that they can not play in the tourny for whatever reason.
This can been seen in the FAQ under "How my rating is calculated".
The FAQs state that:
"If you enter into a rated game, your rating will be recalculated on its completion so long as at least two moves have been made by each player."
However I have an example that contradicts this:
In this game Game 872897
my opponent made one move before resigning - the game does not appear on my rating graph and my rating was not affected.
In this game Game 872856
we made one move each before my opponent resigned - this game does
appear on my rating graph and my rating was affected.......😕