1. Joined
    03 Oct '05
    Moves
    09 Dec '08 05:40
    I learned how to play Chess many, many years ago as a 5-year old child. Being hooked, I played in School Teams right up to teenage level. And yet, after 1000's of games, it was not until I was about 14 or so, playing in School Teams, that I discovered En Pasant!

What are other player's experience?
  2. washington
    Moves
    09 Dec '08 06:25
    I was taught when young and used it on a teacher and beat him and he didn't know it was a real move. He wasn't very happy with my play. It should be learned when playing chess before a game is even commenced.
  3. Joined
    10 Jan '08
    Moves
    09 Dec '08 08:26
    i didn't know about it until i started playing on this site...saying that, i had just played 4 or 5 people before that.
  4. Joined
    11 Nov '05
    Moves
    09 Dec '08 09:49
    The rule of En Pasant is my favourite one #2. Sometimes it comes out of the blue only to mess up for my opponent.

But my favourit one, #1, is the rule of stalemate!
  5. Joined
    17 Aug '08
    Moves
    09 Dec '08 10:25
    I too learnt to play chess at a young age but it wasn't until my teens when I discovered en passant. It's almost like it still hasn't been fully accepted yet. Then again, trying to explain it to my 8 year old step son wasn't the easiest of tasks...

"But that's cheating!!"

"Err... no, it's a legal move.. really."

So I can't blame my elders for leaving it for me to discover. Maybe I should have done the same. 😕
  6. Account suspended
    Moves
    09 Dec '08 10:34
    Part of the game learned it when I was 12 years old. I'm amazed at people who say they played for years and weren't aware of it. What they mean is they played a bunch of other n00Bs for years who knew even less about chess than they did and nobody in their circle was aware of how to play a legal game of chess.
  7. Standard memberAttilaTheHorn
    Erro Ergo Sum
    In the Green Room
    Moves
    09 Dec '08 12:57