Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 25 Jan '10 10:55 / 1 edit
    Read this last night in the NIC anthology book among Smyslov's studies.A study by K.Fabel,1949

    White mates in two


    You might think it's impossible and I made some mistake.Here's the solution:

    It is an odds game,white started without his a1 rook and still has castling rights.So 1.0-0-0 (brings the king to c1) Ka1 2.Ra3 checkmate


    Good stuff 🙂
  2. 26 Jan '10 01:48
    That's legal?
  3. 26 Jan '10 01:48
    Originally posted by Blackson
    That's legal?
    I think it's a joke
  4. 26 Jan '10 05:33 / 2 edits
    Warning please read the title of this thread b4 attempting to solve this.🙂
    White to play and win.

    hint.number 1.--- I think a go player invented this problem.
    hint.number 2.--- solving this problem will grant you 30 points.
  5. 26 Jan '10 07:09
    The first hint makes me think the solution must be 1.f4, surrounding Black's knight, which is therefore removed from the board. Don't know where 30 points fits in though.
  6. 26 Jan '10 08:49
    you found it ponnuki 30 points its a go proverb
  7. 26 Jan '10 08:56
    Originally posted by National Master Dale
    you found it ponnuki 30 points its a go proverb
    😠😠😠 My Rybka doesn't like 1. f4

    😠😠😠
  8. Subscriber AThousandYoung
    Just another day
    26 Jan '10 09:15
    Originally posted by heinzkat
    😠😠😠 My Rybka doesn't like 1. f4

    😠😠😠
    Your Rybka doesn't play Go.
  9. 26 Jan '10 09:24
    Originally posted by AThousandYoung
    Your Rybka doesn't play Go.
    My Rybka is rated 3426 it can play anything
  10. 26 Jan '10 09:44
    Originally posted by National Master Dale
    you found it ponnuki 30 points its a go proverb
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ponnuki

    OK, never heard of that before. I only know the basic rules of go.
  11. 26 Jan '10 11:08
    Originally posted by National Master Dale
    Warning please read the title of this thread b4 attempting to solve this.🙂
    Ha.. Well I just saw 'puzzle' in the title and I clicked 🙂
  12. 26 Jan '10 11:45
    Originally posted by Blackson
    That's legal?
    If you play an odds game it would be a legal move,yes.

    At least I assume so,I never played odds games and do not know the rules.
  13. 26 Jan '10 11:49
    Originally posted by Blackson
    That's legal?
    http://www.chesshistory.com/winter/winter56.html

    6029. Castling with a phantom rook

    From Mark Thornton (Cambridge, England):

    ‘In rook-odds games could the odds-giver castle with the “phantom rook”? For example, if White gave the odds of his queen’s rook, could he play Ke1-c1? And, if so, were the castling rules the same as if the rook were present?’

    No consensus was ever reached, as is shown by the selection of British quotes below. Firstly, Howard Staunton on page 35 of Chess Praxis (London, 1860):

    ‘When a player gives the odds of his king’s or queen’s rook, he must not castle (or, more properly speaking, leap his king) on the side from whence he takes off the rook, unless before commencing the game or match he stipulates to have the privilege of so doing.’

    On page 35 of Chess (London, 1889) R.F. Green wrote similarly:

    ‘A player giving the odds of a rook may not go through the form of castling on the side from which the rook has been removed.’

    However, in a review of the book on pages 88-89 of the March 1890 BCM Edward Freeborough disagreed. After stating, with respect to level games, that castling should be described as a move of the king and that the king should therefore be moved first, Freeborough observed:

    ‘It follows logically that the fact of giving the odds of a rook ought not to deprive the king of his privilege of taking two steps to the right or left as his first move.’

    Page 36 of The British Chess Code (London, 1903) stated:

    ‘In the absence of agreement to a different effect, a player may castle (by moving his king as in ordinary castling) on a side from which, before the commencement of the game, the player’s rook has been removed, provided that this rook’s square is unoccupied and has been unoccupied throughout the game, and that the same conditions as to squares and as to the king are fulfilled which are required for ordinary castling on this side.’

    The above text was quoted on page 275 of the June 1916 Chess Amateur when a revised edition of the Code was envisaged. Comments were invited, and on page 305 of the July 1916 issue ‘Simplex’ wrote:

    ‘This I think sheer nonsense. If a player gave me a rook and wanted to castle on this rook’s side, I should say, “No, you don’t, you can’t castle without a castle”. Let’s have no pretence. If a player gives a rook, let him give it totally not half. Receivers of odds are not strong players, and to see the nominal giver of odds move his king a couple of squares would be disconcerting. No; if a player gives odds let him give them without pretence.’

    A contrary view was expressed by W.S. Branch on pages 333-334 of the August 1916 Chess Amateur:

    ‘Re Chess Laws, page 305 (July), and as to “castling without rook”, I would say, first, that you can’t “castle the king” – the full and proper term, of which “castles” is an abridgment – without a castle. The phrase should be “moving the king as in castling”.

    I believe that the right of the odds-giver to move his king, once in a game, as in castling, has always been upheld since “castling” was invented (sixteenth century). It existed, as part of the “king’s leap”, long before “castling” was invented, and long before the rook was ever called a “castle”. The giving of the rook as odds should not deprive the king of any of his rights.’

    Branch then gave further historical details regarding the king’s leap. By 1916, however, the practice of giving odds was disappearing, without any formal resolution of the ‘phantom rook’ question.
  14. 26 Jan '10 13:40
    Phew! A well researched reply Mr Fat Lady.

    (What about if you gave 'pawn odds' can you sneak in an En Passent?)

    Staying with the joke theme.
    If you want to bamboozle someone then show them this.



    It's not checkmate. It's a draw.

    Checkmate means that on the very next move the King is taken
    and the game ends.

    Obviously it is Black to play. But Black cannot move!
    Black cannot even make an illegal move
    (ie moving the King into check where it can be taken).

    White cannot finsh the game and take the King because Black has no move.
    Therefore the game is drawn.
  15. 26 Jan '10 13:44 / 2 edits
    Black loses because he is forced to cannibalism (FIDE Handbook of chess, rule 3.8.7.d)