Go back
Analyze Board

Analyze Board

Only Chess

Vote Up
Vote Down

I often find that I can clarify combinations with Analyze board. Is this cheating, do you think? If it's there, can't we all use it? Furthermore, I'm curiouse if a player in USCF rated tournaments is allowed to write move combinations down on paper after thinking them out. I believe I read that Botvinnik wrote down a fatal combination, and handed it to his opponent to end the game. Am I correct in this assumption?

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by powershaker
I often find that I can clarify combinations with Analyze board. Is this cheating, do you think?
Of course it is cheating. They added this option to the website, so they can ban unsuspecting persons who have just subscribed from the site, and sneak off with their money. Didn't you know that?

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by powershaker
I often find that I can clarify combinations with Analyze board. Is this cheating, do you think? If it's there, can't we all use it? Furthermore, I'm curiouse if a player in USCF rated tournaments is allowed to write move combinations down on paper after thinking them out. I believe I read that Botvinnik wrote down a fatal combination, and handed it to his opponent to end the game. Am I correct in this assumption?
The only writing material you are allowed during OTB games under FIDE rules is the scoresheet. You are expressly prohibited from writing anything on the scoresheet other than the moves of the game and other notes of that nature (draw offers, times etc.).

Vote Up
Vote Down

But, what about in a World Championship, when a guy has a second in his match. The contender is allowed to look over his gave when away from the board to see alternatives. I think you're both wrong. Working out combinations on paper is not illegal, and what about in correspondence chess? A lot of people research some of the opening lines in books. That would be more illegal than using your own mind to clarify the combination you saw. 🙂

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by powershaker
But, what about in a World Championship, when a guy has a second in his match. The contender is allowed to look over his gave when away from the board to see alternatives. I think you're both wrong. Working out combinations on paper is not illegal, and what about in correspondence chess? A lot of people research some of the opening lines in books. That would be more illegal than using your own mind to clarify the combination you saw. 🙂
You're an idiot.

During a game the players can't consult with anyone. Not even their seconds. Back in the days of adjournment the last move would be sealed (written down but not shown to the other player) so there would be no time advantage.
As I said earlier working out combinations is not allowed during OTB games under FIDE rules. It's as simple as that.

Correspondance chess is different. That's what we play here. References have always been allowed in correspondance chess, ever since the days of telegram games. Complaining that it gives an unfair advantage is the same as complaining because a test is openbook. It's the same for everyone.

Vote Up
Vote Down

I don't appreciate your calling me an idiot, but I have decided never to use analyze board again after I did it that once. I'm an over achiever. Regardless, I thought of a great combination, and I saw it before I ever used analyze board, so I think I'm okay. I don't want to cheat. I'd rather my rating be accurate. Man, I sure did pull off a great combination! Grandmaster style! 🙂 It feels great!

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by powershaker
I don't appreciate your calling me an idiot, but I have decided never to use analyze board again after I did it that once. I'm an over achiever. Regardless, I thought of a great combination, and I saw it before I ever used analyze board, so I think I'm okay. I don't want to cheat. I'd rather my rating be accurate. Man, I sure did pull off a great combination! Grandmaster style! 🙂 It feels great!
Do I have to tell the story,
Of a thousand rainy days since we first met?
It’s a big enough umbrella,
But it’s always me that ends up getting wet.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by XanthosNZ
Do I have to tell the story,
Of a thousand rainy days since we first met?
It’s a big enough umbrella,
But it’s always me that ends up getting wet.
powershaker makes you wet?

1 edit
Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by schakuhr
Of course it is cheating. They added this option to the website, so they can ban unsuspecting persons who have just subscribed from the site, and sneak off with their money. Didn't you know that?
Er, why, don't you, try, to learn, how, to use, commas, my, friend? (Edited, so, that, I could, put, some, more commas, in.)

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by XanthosNZ
You're an idiot.

During a game the players can't consult with anyone. Not even their seconds. Back in the days of adjournment the last move would be sealed (written down but not shown to the other player) so there would be no time advantage.
As I said earlier working out combinations is not allowed during OTB games under FIDE rules. It's as simple a ...[text shortened]... ir advantage is the same as complaining because a test is openbook. It's the same for everyone.
actually, it is perfectly legal, except in tournament games. In fact, IM Peter Kurzdorfer recommends writing down your combinations, especially lines for check mate.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by scrumpymanjack
Er, why, don't you, try, to learn, how, to use, commas, my, friend?
Because if I do, you won't be able to make any lame jokes anymore. See, I'm just trying to be nice to you.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by iamroot
actually, it is perfectly legal, except in tournament games. In fact, IM Peter Kurzdorfer recommends writing down your combinations, especially lines for check mate.
Note I said under FIDE rules. FIDE rules apply when playing rated games. Like in a tournament.

Vote Up
Vote Down

I think it's horrible that I make him wet. I don't go that way. Keep your bishop to yourself. HAHA

Vote Up
Vote Down

Yes, it's completely legal in correspondence chess to analyze the position and write down combinations. But, if like me, you're wanting an accurate standard rating score, you might want to play then with only what you have in your head. So, I've decided not to use analyze board. By the way, that combination I was messing around with on analyze board? It blew up in my face! HAHA!

Vote Up
Vote Down

I think you're just mad that I drew you, Xanthos. Got to have contempt for your opponents, eh? LOL! *wink*

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.