Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 26 Jun '12 17:39
    You know how you blunder - and realise as soon as you press "submit move", well...

    I just wrote down ideas for my next couple of moves in the notebook, about to spring a trap, even numbered the moves. Clicked submit move, then realised they were in the message opponent box, not the notebook box.
  2. 26 Jun '12 17:58
    The internet will be the end of us all.
  3. 26 Jun '12 18:00
    perhaps he'll think you revealing the moves is the trap!
  4. 26 Jun '12 18:28
    Funny enough, he preempted my plan, made a move which defended against it, but did it in a way I was pretty happy with, blocking in his bishop ๐Ÿ™‚
  5. Subscriber Marinkatomb
    wotagr8game
    26 Jun '12 19:18
    We've all done it! ๐Ÿ˜‰
  6. Standard member hedonist
    peacedog's keeper
    26 Jun '12 20:15
    Originally posted by Dewi Jones
    You know how you blunder - and realise as soon as you press "submit move", well...

    I just wrote down ideas for my next couple of moves in the notebook, about to spring a trap, even numbered the moves. Clicked submit move, then realised they were in the message opponent box, not the notebook box.
    That's almost as bad as texting your wife instead of your girlfriend!
  7. 26 Jun '12 20:58 / 2 edits
    We've all done it ๐Ÿ˜‰
  8. 26 Jun '12 22:50
    Hi Dewi

    When it's all over you will have to PM me the game.

    On the same theme 'daft things we do.'

    Today I was reading on the ECF forum about a lad at a quick play event.
    He was White in a position very similiar to this. (the exact position is not given)


    White to move with the flags hovering.
    Now even if White's flag falls it's a draw as Black cannot possibly win.
    White all flustered played 1.c8=Q but grabbed a Black Queen.


    Black made a King move, White made a King move and then Black started
    moving his 'Queen.'

    White objected, enter the arbiter.

    Decision:
    Under quick play rules, as other moves had been made after the illegal
    move (1.c8=Black Queen) then the illegal move stands. White lost.

    I've been chuckling to myself all day about that one.
  9. Subscriber Marinkatomb
    wotagr8game
    27 Jun '12 00:10
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    Hi Dewi

    When it's all over you will have to PM me the game.

    On the same theme 'daft things we do.'

    Today I was reading on the ECF forum about a lad at a quick play event.
    He was White in a position very similiar to this. (the exact position is not given)

    [fen]8/2P5/5K2/8/5k2/8/8/8[/fen]
    White to move with the flags hovering.
    Now even if Wh ...[text shortened]... llegal move stands. White lost.

    I've been chuckling to myself all day about that one.
    Oh my! That's gotta hurt! :'(
  10. Subscriber Paul Leggett
    Chess Librarian
    27 Jun '12 05:25
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    Hi Dewi

    When it's all over you will have to PM me the game.

    On the same theme 'daft things we do.'

    Today I was reading on the ECF forum about a lad at a quick play event.
    He was White in a position very similiar to this. (the exact position is not given)

    [fen]8/2P5/5K2/8/5k2/8/8/8[/fen]
    White to move with the flags hovering.
    Now even if Wh ...[text shortened]... llegal move stands. White lost.

    I've been chuckling to myself all day about that one.
    We need a new category for this one.
  11. Standard member Phlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    27 Jun '12 16:32
    Originally posted by Paul Leggett
    We need a new category for this one.
    RHP Site Idea

    Promote piece (click queen)

    What color would you like it to be? (Click wrong color)
  12. 27 Jun '12 18:47
    Originally posted by Phlabibit
    RHP Site Idea

    Promote piece (click queen)

    What color would you like it to be? (Click wrong color)
    That made me laugh aloud.
  13. Standard member byedidia
    Mister Why
    27 Jun '12 20:28
    So many ways to blunder I never imagined.
  14. Standard member hedonist
    peacedog's keeper
    27 Jun '12 21:41
    Originally posted by byedidia
    So many ways to blunder I never imagined.
    You are just an amateur blunderteer๐Ÿ˜€
  15. Standard member ChessPraxis
    Cowboy From Hell
    28 Jun '12 03:51
    Originally posted by Dewi Jones
    You know how you blunder - and realise as soon as you press "submit move", well...

    I just wrote down ideas for my next couple of moves in the notebook, about to spring a trap, even numbered the moves. Clicked submit move, then realised they were in the message opponent box, not the notebook box.
    I did that one myself. My opponent asked me if I thought he should resign or was he losing then. I told him I wouldn't comment on a GIP.