Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. Subscriber venda
    Dave
    06 Nov '16 18:59
    I've always been a little confused by the repeated positions rule.
    Why isn't this a draw?
    50. Rh6h5 Kf5e6
    51. Rh5h6 Ke6f5
    52. Rh6h5 Kf5e6
    Does it need one more repeat to qualify ?
    I claimed the draw(I am black) and it was ignored presumably under the invalid claims rule
  2. Standard member Steve45
    Garry Kasparov
    06 Nov '16 20:54
    Originally posted by venda
    I've always been a little confused by the repeated positions rule.
    Why isn't this a draw?
    50. Rh6h5 Kf5e6
    51. Rh5h6 Ke6f5
    52. Rh6h5 Kf5e6
    Does it need one more repeat to qualify ?
    I claimed the draw(I am black) and it was ignored presumably under the invalid claims rule
    Dave, the same position has to appear three times, I think one more cycle of those moves would activate the repetitive rule, and then you can claim the draw.
  3. Subscriber moonbus
    Uber-Nerd
    07 Nov '16 08:55
    It's the same position for you three times, but not (yet) for him.
  4. Subscriber venda
    Dave
    07 Nov '16 10:03
    Originally posted by Steve45
    Dave, the same position has to appear three times, I think one more cycle of those moves would activate the repetitive rule, and then you can claim the draw.
    Cheers Steve .Thought as much
  5. Subscriber venda
    Dave
    07 Nov '16 10:03
    Originally posted by moonbus
    It's the same position for you three times, but not (yet) for him.
    Thanks