Behold!

Behold!

Only Chess

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

a

Moves
29 Apr 07

Criticism please.

Both were against stronger players.

Both were Drawn.

What could I have done differently? :3

Game 3495614

Game 3497002

MR

Moves
29 Apr 07

I just glanced at the first dozen moves of the first game. You shouldn't have retreated the queen on move 11. You should have played 11...Be7 or 11...Ne7, and you would have won the knight on f3.

Also, the move h5 looked odd.

SS

Moves
29 Apr 07
1 edit

M

Moves
29 Apr 07

I'm no expert, but...

I see in Game 3497002 you moved Kf3g5, threatening Kxf7 on your next move. I'd be wary about playing something like this against a 1500 player: players of that level have likely fallen for that trick some time before and have strategies to deal with it. Ultimately, this resulted in his queen taking your knight on black's 6th move, and then you were behind in material for the rest of the game and were set on the defensive when he threatened an exchange of queens.

Looking over the final position, I wonder if black didn't accept a draw prematurely, if he was willing to give up on the pawn on a4 and set about eliminating your pawn on the g and h files. For what it's worth, I'd suggest concentrating on working on a solid opening that limits your opponent's oppurtunity to get ahead on material early in the game.

Of course, I'm hovering around a mere 1300, so what do I know? 😛

SS

Moves
29 Apr 07
2 edits

a

Moves
29 Apr 07

ih8sens suggested The bishop move instead of queen move as well.

When I was looking through it, It looked really iffy.

And also, on the game against prince, I suppose I could have dropped the pawn and gone to where my forces were......

Now I feel bad. xD

But i'm learning. :3

M

Moves
29 Apr 07

The post that was quoted here has been removed