1. Joined
    16 Jan '06
    Moves
    10 Oct '08 14:30
    Hi,

I'm thirty two years old, and though I played a little chess at school with friends I never really got interested in it until I found this site a couple of years ago. I decided to get as good as I could without reading any chess theory, just by trying to work everything out from first principles. I seem to have reached my ceiling just short of 1500. Now I'm looking for a book to teach me what strengths and weaknesses various popular openings have, how to understand positional advantages properly rather than just thinking one or two moves ahead, etc. Basically, a book for someone a little in advance of absolute beginner, but who has never read any chess theory.

Does anyone have any recommendations? Preferably in print in the UK.

Thanks in advance,
    Hamish
  2. Account suspended
    Moves
    10 Oct '08 14:33
    Originally posted by hatfinch
    Hi,

I'm thirty two years old, and though I played a little chess at school with friends I never really got interested in it until I found this site a couple of years ago. I decided to get as good as I could without reading any chess theory, just by trying to work everything out from first principles. I seem to have reached my ceiling just short of 1500. ...[text shortened]... anyone have any recommendations? Preferably in print in the UK.

Thanks in advance,
    Hamish
    what type of style of play do you prefer to play, open, closed, classical, hypermodern?
  3. Joined
    16 Jan '06
    Moves
    10 Oct '08 14:39
    Originally posted by robbie carrobie
    what type of style of play do you prefer to play, open, closed, classical, hypermodern?
    I really don't know! I usually open with the queen's pawn, but I'm not married to that. I want to learn about *all* of my options. Basically a book with the broadest possible scope would be ideal -- it won't be the only chess theory book I ever get, just the first!
  4. Joined
    16 Jan '06
    Moves