Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 20 Dec '13 22:13
    Hello,
    Although this could be tied to the thread list starting with

    Silverbantam on December 18, 2013 at 18:28pm

    I may have read about someone who was a decent player asking about a specific rule for castling because he wanted to know if he could castle at the same time his castling rook was attacked. They told him that he could still castle. And if I am not mistaken, he went on to win his game. If the king is not in check or moving through check during a castling move, then the rook being attacked is irrelevant. Hopefully, the rules concerning castling for Redhotpawn.com purposes include this particular situation.
  2. 20 Dec '13 23:33
    I would sure think this site gets it right.

    I remember it was some prominent Soviet player who had to ask the question, as reported in a post on this chess forum.
  3. Standard member ChessPraxis
    Cowboy From Hell
    21 Dec '13 02:13
    Originally posted by KingOnPoint
    Hello,
    Although this could be tied to the thread list starting with

    Silverbantam on December 18, 2013 at 18:28pm

    I may have read about someone who was a decent player asking about a specific rule for castling because he wanted to know if he could castle at the same time his castling rook was attacked. They told him that he could sti ...[text shortened]... ly, the rules concerning castling for Redhotpawn.com purposes include this particular situation.
    Korchnoi, the second ranked at the time asked if he could legally castle when his rook was enprise.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Viktor_Korchnoi

    During the match between Karpov and Korchnoi, an amusing incident occurred. In the 21st game, Korchnoi played a strong opening novelty and, after a blunder by Karpov, achieved an overwhelming position. During this game, Korchnoi rose from the board, approached the arbiter and asked whether he could legally castle kingside in the current position, in which a bishop was attacking his rook on h1. The arbiter, Alberic O'Kelly de Galway, informed him that his intended move was legal; shortly after Korchnoi executed it, Karpov resigned.
  4. Standard member Schlecter
    The King of Board
    21 Dec '13 13:53
    There are some chess problems that need a castle movement to solve it.

    But how to know if castle is still legal with less than 10 pieces on the board????
  5. 21 Dec '13 14:56
    This castling tale again. OK it is worth re-telling.

    Korchnoi was asked what really happened in the incident.

    http://chessvault.com/2006/04/29/victor-korchnoi-at-the-chess-bridge/

    The link states:

    "Korchnoi confirmed he did ask the question at that point, explaining that
    the Russian chess rules left the situation a little ambiguous, and it was the
    first time the situation had occurred in his games.

    Considering the levels of tension surrounding the match and this game in particular,
    Korchnoi thought it best to confirm with the match referee before making the move."

    Korchnoi's claim: 'the Russian chess rules left the situation a little ambiguous.'
    Is furtther backed up by.

    Averbach - Purdy Adelaide, 1960 (Black to play)


    Purdy played 14...0-0-0 and Averback objected.
    Averbakh pointed out that the Rook passed over a square controlled
    by White, so it was illegal.

    Purdy proved (possibly with the help of a bemused arbiter), that the castling
    was legal since this applies only to the King.

    To which Averbakh replied "Only the King? Not the Rook?"
  6. Subscriber Paul Leggett
    Chess Librarian
    21 Dec '13 16:35
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    This castling tale again. OK it is worth re-telling.

    Korchnoi was asked what really happened in the incident.

    http://chessvault.com/2006/04/29/victor-korchnoi-at-the-chess-bridge/

    The link states:

    "Korchnoi confirmed he did ask the question at that point, explaining that
    [b]the Russian chess rules left the situation a little ambiguous
    , ...[text shortened]... since this applies only to the King.

    To which Averbakh replied "Only the King? Not the Rook?"[/b]
    Wow, this post is worthy of Winter or Soltis. It puts the Korchnoi story in an entirely different light.
  7. Subscriber sonhouse
    Fast and Curious
    23 Dec '13 11:48
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    This castling tale again. OK it is worth re-telling.

    Korchnoi was asked what really happened in the incident.

    http://chessvault.com/2006/04/29/victor-korchnoi-at-the-chess-bridge/

    The link states:

    "Korchnoi confirmed he did ask the question at that point, explaining that
    [b]the Russian chess rules left the situation a little ambiguous
    , ...[text shortened]... since this applies only to the King.

    To which Averbakh replied "Only the King? Not the Rook?"[/b]
    Averbakh would not have objected to the guy just moving the rook, since is passes by an attacked square so what would have been his problem with continuing to castle?
  8. 23 Dec '13 18:08 / 2 edits
    Originally posted by greenpawn34

    To which Averbakh replied "Only the King? Not the Rook?"
    I'm sorry, but what am I missing here? Black's King is castling into check, and that's illegal.
    Huh?
  9. Standard member byedidia
    Mister Why
    23 Dec '13 18:19
    Originally posted by KilgoreTrout15
    I'm sorry, but what am I missing here? Black's King is castling into check, and that's illegal.
    Huh?
    You are missing that castling on the queenside puts the king on the c file.
  10. 24 Dec '13 04:25
    For some new information look at the new Chess Forum post on RHP:

    http://www.redhotpawn.com/board/showthread.php?subject=Viktor_Korchnoi_Returning_For_Chess_Play&threadid=157089