1. Joined
    21 Feb '06
    Moves
    05 Oct '09 13:10
    I've been playing blitz at chess.com a little bit recently. I decided to take a look at who their top players were, and to my surprise discovered a player with an ECF grade of 150 who had managed to achieve a rating of over 2700 on chess.com! (My own rating there is 1800, partly because I'm not very good at blitz and partly because I haven't played all that many games).

I always thought that it must be impossible to cheat at online blitz, simply because of the time it would take to play the move on an engine, wait for a reply and then enter it on the online site. However the enormous discrepancy between the OTB grade and online rating of this player have convinced me that it is possible after all.

Does anyone have any experience of this? For example, is there some way to get an engine to play the moves automatically without the human slowing it down?
  2. The Smoke
    Moves
    05 Oct '09 13:241 edit
    Originally posted by Fat Lady
    For example, is there some way to get an engine to play the moves automatically without the human slowing it down?
    really don't know the chess/engine side of this (i.e. how long it takes to produce a move) but would think it's possible technically (i.e. interface-wise) given that there were/are softwares bidding for you on eBay (i.e. last minute, or rather - second, bets)
  3. Standard memberwormwood
    If Theres Hell Below
    We're All Gonna Go!
    Moves
    05 Oct '09 13:331 edit
    everything done on a computer can be programmed, but I doubt it's widespread. for one, write your own client and add whatever 'features' you want. should be relatively easy.

years ago I remember someone (rahimk?) trying out the most obvious way of cheating in blitz, making moves both on the client & fritz board simultaneously. I think he said it was easily doable, and the overhead of switching was something like 2s per move.

so it's definitely possible.
  4. Joined
    21 Feb '06